Velocity Reviews

Velocity Reviews (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/index.php)
-   Cisco (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/f27-cisco.html)
-   -   T1 Bandwidth? (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/t549469-t1-bandwidth.html)

Tom Linden 11-05-2007 04:05 PM

T1 Bandwidth?
 
I have a T1 CSU/DSU on a 2621 router and looking at the line

CISCO2#sho int s0/0
Serial0/0 is up, line protocol is up
Hardware is PQUICC with Fractional T1 CSU/DSU
Internet address is xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/30
MTU 1500 bytes, BW 1544 Kbit, DLY 20000 usec,
reliability 255/255, txload 1/255, rxload 1/255
Encapsulation HDLC, loopback not set
Keepalive set (10 sec)
Last input 00:00:00, output 00:00:00, output hang never
Last clearing of "show interface" counters 2d03h
Input queue: 0/75/0/0 (size/max/drops/flushes); Total output drops: 0
Queueing strategy: weighted fair
Output queue: 0/1000/64/0 (size/max total/threshold/drops)
Conversations 0/6/256 (active/max active/max total)
Reserved Conversations 0/0 (allocated/max allocated)
Available Bandwidth 1158 kilobits/sec
5 minute input rate 1000 bits/sec, 2 packets/sec
5 minute output rate 2000 bits/sec, 2 packets/sec

Why is the Available Bandwidth on the Output queue less than the T1
Bandwidth?
Can it be increased?


--
PL/I for OpenVMS
www.kednos.com

Zub 11-05-2007 04:10 PM

Re: T1 Bandwidth?
 
On Nov 5, 4:05 pm, "Tom Linden" <t...@kednos.company> wrote:
> I have a T1 CSU/DSU on a 2621 router and looking at the line
>
> CISCO2#sho int s0/0
> Serial0/0 is up, line protocol is up
> Hardware is PQUICC with Fractional T1 CSU/DSU
> Internet address is xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/30
> MTU 1500 bytes, BW 1544 Kbit, DLY 20000 usec,
> reliability 255/255, txload 1/255, rxload 1/255
> Encapsulation HDLC, loopback not set
> Keepalive set (10 sec)
> Last input 00:00:00, output 00:00:00, output hang never
> Last clearing of "show interface" counters 2d03h
> Input queue: 0/75/0/0 (size/max/drops/flushes); Total output drops: 0
> Queueing strategy: weighted fair
> Output queue: 0/1000/64/0 (size/max total/threshold/drops)
> Conversations 0/6/256 (active/max active/max total)
> Reserved Conversations 0/0 (allocated/max allocated)
> Available Bandwidth 1158 kilobits/sec
> 5 minute input rate 1000 bits/sec, 2 packets/sec
> 5 minute output rate 2000 bits/sec, 2 packets/sec
>
> Why is the Available Bandwidth on the Output queue less than the T1
> Bandwidth?
> Can it be increased?
>
> --
> PL/I for OpenVMSwww.kednos.com


What is the config for this interface? What are the sh controller
commands displaying?


Tom Linden 11-05-2007 05:21 PM

Re: T1 Bandwidth?
 
On Mon, 05 Nov 2007 08:10:58 -0800, Zub <Zubray@gmail.com> wrote:

> On Nov 5, 4:05 pm, "Tom Linden" <t...@kednos.company> wrote:
>> I have a T1 CSU/DSU on a 2621 router and looking at the line
>>
>> CISCO2#sho int s0/0
>> Serial0/0 is up, line protocol is up
>> Hardware is PQUICC with Fractional T1 CSU/DSU
>> Internet address is xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/30
>> MTU 1500 bytes, BW 1544 Kbit, DLY 20000 usec,
>> reliability 255/255, txload 1/255, rxload 1/255
>> Encapsulation HDLC, loopback not set
>> Keepalive set (10 sec)
>> Last input 00:00:00, output 00:00:00, output hang never
>> Last clearing of "show interface" counters 2d03h
>> Input queue: 0/75/0/0 (size/max/drops/flushes); Total output drops: 0
>> Queueing strategy: weighted fair
>> Output queue: 0/1000/64/0 (size/max total/threshold/drops)
>> Conversations 0/6/256 (active/max active/max total)
>> Reserved Conversations 0/0 (allocated/max allocated)
>> Available Bandwidth 1158 kilobits/sec
>> 5 minute input rate 1000 bits/sec, 2 packets/sec
>> 5 minute output rate 2000 bits/sec, 2 packets/sec
>>
>> Why is the Available Bandwidth on the Output queue less than the T1
>> Bandwidth?
>> Can it be increased?
>>
>> --
>> PL/I for OpenVMSwww.kednos.com

>
> What is the config for this interface? What are the sh controller
> commands displaying?
>

Here is the config
interface Serial0/0
ip address 206.XXX.XXX.XXX 255.255.255.252
ip access-group 101 in
ip access-group 102 out
ip nat outside
no ip mroute-cache

CISCO2#sho controllers F0/0
Interface FastEthernet0/0
Hardware is AMD Am79c971
ADDR: 82BF5BD8, FASTSEND: 80027A1C, MCI_INDEX: 0
DIST ROUTE ENABLED: 0
Route Cache Flag: 11
LADRF=0x0000 0x0000 0x0000 0x0000
CSR0 =0x00000072, CSR3 =0x00001044, CSR4 =0x0000491D, CSR15 =0x00000180
CSR80 =0x00009900, CSR114=0x00000000, CRDA =0x03D177E0, CXDA =0x03D17B10
BCR9 =0x00000001 (full-duplex)
CSR5 =0x00000001, CSR7 =0x00000828, CSR100=0x0000F000, CSR125=0x00005C3C
BCR2 =0x00001000, BCR9 =0x00000001, BCR18 =0x000019E0, BCR22 =0x0000FF06
BCR25 =0x000000FF, BCR26 =0x00000080, BCR27 =0x00000010, BCR32 =0x00004D80
HW filtering information:
Promiscuous Mode Disabled, PHY Addr Enabled, Broadcast Addr Enabled
PHY Addr=00B0.64AD.7900, Multicast Filter=0x0000 0x0000 0x0000 0x0000
amdp2_instance=0x82BF7380, registers=0x40000000, ib=0x3D17540
rx ring entries=64, tx ring entries=128
rxring=0x3D175A0, rxr shadow=0x82BF75F0, rx_head=36, rx_tail=0
txring=0x3D179E0, txr shadow=0x82BF771C, tx_head=19, tx_tail=19,
tx_count=0
Software MAC address filter(hash:length/addr/mask/hits):
spurious_idon=0, throttled=0, enabled=0, disabled=0
rx_framing_err=0, rx_overflow_err=0, rx_buffer_err=0
rx_bpe_err=0, rx_soft_overflow_err=0, rx_no_enp=0, rx_discard=0
tx_one_col_err=0, tx_more_col_err=0, tx_no_enp=0, tx_deferred_err=0
tx_underrun_err=0, tx_late_collision_err=0, tx_loss_carrier_err=0
tx_exc_collision_err=0, tx_buff_err=0, fatal_tx_err=0
hsrp_conf=0, need_af_check=0
tx_limited=0(64)
PHY registers:
Register 0x00: 1100 782D 7810 0003 0141 01E1 0001 0000
Register 0x08: 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
Register 0x10: 0000 0000 4000 0000 38C8 0010 0000 0002
Register 0x18: 0001 0000 0000 0000 0000

CISCO2#sho controllers F0/1
Interface FastEthernet0/1
Hardware is AMD Am79c971
ADDR: 82BFB858, FASTSEND: 80027A1C, MCI_INDEX: 0
DIST ROUTE ENABLED: 0
Route Cache Flag: 11
LADRF=0x0000 0x0100 0x0000 0x0000
CSR0 =0x00000072, CSR3 =0x00001044, CSR4 =0x0000491D, CSR15 =0x00000180
CSR80 =0x00009900, CSR114=0x00000000, CRDA =0x03D665C0, CXDA =0x03D66BF0
BCR9 =0x00000001
CSR5 =0x00000001, CSR7 =0x00000028, CSR100=0x0000F000, CSR125=0x00005C3C
BCR2 =0x00001000, BCR9 =0x00000001, BCR18 =0x000019E0, BCR22 =0x0000FF06
BCR25 =0x000000FF, BCR26 =0x00000080, BCR27 =0x00000010, BCR32 =0x00004D80
HW filtering information:
Promiscuous Mode Disabled, PHY Addr Enabled, Broadcast Addr Enabled
PHY Addr=00B0.64AD.7901, Multicast Filter=0x0000 0x0100 0x0000 0x0000
amdp2_instance=0x82BFD000, registers=0x40100000, ib=0x3D66260
rx ring entries=64, tx ring entries=128
rxring=0x3D662C0, rxr shadow=0x82BFD270, rx_head=48, rx_tail=0
txring=0x3D66700, txr shadow=0x82BFD39C, tx_head=79, tx_tail=79,
tx_count=0
Software MAC address filter(hash:length/addr/mask/hits):
0xC0: 0 0100.0ccc.cccc 0000.0000.0000 0
spurious_idon=0, throttled=0, enabled=0, disabled=0
rx_framing_err=0, rx_overflow_err=0, rx_buffer_err=0
rx_bpe_err=0, rx_soft_overflow_err=0, rx_no_enp=0, rx_discard=0

CISCO2#sho controllers S0/0
Interface Serial0/0
Hardware is PowerQUICC MPC860 with Integrated FT1 CSU/DSU module
TX and RX clocks detected.
idb at 0x82C01F10, driver data structure at 0x82C09CA4
SCC Registers:
General [GSMR]=0x2:0x00000030, Protocol-specific [PSMR]=0x8
Events [SCCE]=0x0000, Mask [SCCM]=0x001F, Status [SCCS]=0x06
Transmit on Demand [TODR]=0x0, Data Sync [DSR]=0x7E7E
Interrupt Registers:
Config [CICR]=0x00367F80, Pending [CIPR]=0x00008000
Mask [CIMR]=0x40204000, In-srv [CISR]=0x00000000
Command register [CR]=0x600
Port A [PADIR]=0x0000, [PAPAR]=0xFFFF
[PAODR]=0x0000, [PADAT]=0xEEFF
Port B [PBDIR]=0x0180F, [PBPAR]=0x0000E
[PBODR]=0x00000, [PBDAT]=0x3E77D
Port C [PCDIR]=0x00C, [PCPAR]=0x000
[PCSO]=0x020, [PCDAT]=0xFC0, [PCINT]=0x00F
Receive Ring
rmd(680126B0): status 9000 length 2E address 3DB7044
rmd(680126B8): status 9000 length 86 address 3DB76C4
rmd(680126C0): status 9000 length 2E address 3DBAAC4
rmd(680126C8): status 9000 length 86 address 3DB9744

CISCO2#sho controllers T1

CISCO2#


--
PL/I for OpenVMS
www.kednos.com

Gabriele Beltrame 11-05-2007 07:17 PM

Re: T1 Bandwidth?
 
"Tom Linden" <tom@kednos.company> ha scritto nel messaggio
news:op.t1btnuiyhv4qyg@murphus.linden...
>I have a T1 CSU/DSU on a 2621 router and looking at the line
>
> CISCO2#sho int s0/0
> Serial0/0 is up, line protocol is up
> Hardware is PQUICC with Fractional T1 CSU/DSU
> Internet address is xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/30
> MTU 1500 bytes, BW 1544 Kbit, DLY 20000 usec,
> reliability 255/255, txload 1/255, rxload 1/255
> Encapsulation HDLC, loopback not set
> Keepalive set (10 sec)
> Last input 00:00:00, output 00:00:00, output hang never
> Last clearing of "show interface" counters 2d03h
> Input queue: 0/75/0/0 (size/max/drops/flushes); Total output drops: 0
> Queueing strategy: weighted fair
> Output queue: 0/1000/64/0 (size/max total/threshold/drops)
> Conversations 0/6/256 (active/max active/max total)
> Reserved Conversations 0/0 (allocated/max allocated)
> Available Bandwidth 1158 kilobits/sec
> 5 minute input rate 1000 bits/sec, 2 packets/sec
> 5 minute output rate 2000 bits/sec, 2 packets/sec
>
> Why is the Available Bandwidth on the Output queue less than the T1
> Bandwidth?
> Can it be increased?
>
>
> --
> PL/I for OpenVMS
> www.kednos.com


Hi,

You don't have to worry about that value (unless you want to tune this for
QoS implmenetation).
A 25% of "bandwidth" is reserved in such a way that you can't allocate it to
RSVP, other QoS features (i.e. Class bandwidth/priority).
This is a safeguard for traffic overhead and routing protocol traffic not to
be starved if you "reserved" the 100% bandwidth to user traffic.
Note that now you can already use your whole "pipe", you are not limited to
1158Kbps

You can tune the value using "max-reserved-bandwidth" interface command

Probably I haven't expressed myself well, so you should see some real
documentation about this.

Regards,
Gabriele




All times are GMT. The time now is 07:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.