Velocity Reviews

Velocity Reviews (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/index.php)
-   Windows 64bit (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/f46-windows-64bit.html)
-   -   Can't remote logon to Vista Business Premium laptop (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/t538217-cant-remote-logon-to-vista-business-premium-laptop.html)

Smiley 09-18-2007 04:20 PM

Can't remote logon to Vista Business Premium laptop
 
Hi lister,

May be posting to wrong forum, if so, please excuse me and redirect .

Got this user who is on Vista Business Premium with Office 2007. There has
no of issues with the setup. The server is SBS 2003 with Exchange.

The current hurdle is Outlook 2007 doesn't update the mails when connect via
VPN. Would see the server and everything was fine but when it comes to
exchange mail, there is always a message saying disconnecting on the lower
right corner.

I have tried to rdp into user laptop to see what it actually saying but
can't rdp in, When logon as user, get the following error

"To log on this remote computer, you must be granted the Allow log on
through Terminal Services right. By default, members of the Remote Desktop
Users group have this right. If you are not a member of the Remote Desktop
Users group or another group that has this right, or if the Remote Desktop
User Group does not have this right, you must be granted this right
manually."

I have setup the user as local administrator, so what else do I need to do
to allow me to logon to see the originally complaint problem ?

Many thanks,

Smiley



Charlie Russel - MVP 09-18-2007 04:58 PM

Re: Can't remote logon to Vista Business Premium laptop
 
Well, you're right, it's not the right newsgroup. You should probably be in
the server.sbs newsgroup. But, that being said:
1.) Windows Firewall on the target computer must be configured to allow
connections.
2.) The client must be configured to allow connections. And it must allow
connections from downlevel clients.
3.) The connecting user must be a member of the Remote Desktop Users
security group. (In SBS, this means you use the wizards and the user
connecting must be created using the Mobile Users template or above. Use the
Change User Permissions wizard to fix this.

4.) What you really should be using in SBS is RPC over HTTP for Outlook. Log
in to the Remote Web Workplace and you'll see a link on the right that says
"use outlook over the internet" or something like that. Instructions are in
there. It is FAR preferred over using VPN for this.

--
Charlie.
http://msmvps.com/xperts64
http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/profile/charlie.russel


"Smiley" <firework123@googlemail.com> wrote in message
news:fcotrq$rr$2$8300dec7@news.demon.co.uk...
> Hi lister,
>
> May be posting to wrong forum, if so, please excuse me and redirect .
>
> Got this user who is on Vista Business Premium with Office 2007. There has
> no of issues with the setup. The server is SBS 2003 with Exchange.
>
> The current hurdle is Outlook 2007 doesn't update the mails when connect
> via VPN. Would see the server and everything was fine but when it comes to
> exchange mail, there is always a message saying disconnecting on the lower
> right corner.
>
> I have tried to rdp into user laptop to see what it actually saying but
> can't rdp in, When logon as user, get the following error
>
> "To log on this remote computer, you must be granted the Allow log on
> through Terminal Services right. By default, members of the Remote
> Desktop Users group have this right. If you are not a member of the
> Remote Desktop Users group or another group that has this right, or if the
> Remote Desktop User Group does not have this right, you must be granted
> this right manually."
>
> I have setup the user as local administrator, so what else do I need to do
> to allow me to logon to see the originally complaint problem ?
>
> Many thanks,
>
> Smiley
>



Smiley 09-19-2007 05:41 PM

Re: Can't remote logon to Vista Business Premium laptop
 
Hi there,

Thank you for the input,

With regard to your
point 1 - firewall, are you refering to setup rdp on the remote tab on my
computer properties setting. If so that is already done otherwise, would you
please give more details.
point 2 - don't understand.
point 3 - done
point 4 - I have setup others as rpc over http but some how the one in
charge is not kind on it.

Arranged with client to make laptop available to logon tomorrow. Shall
update the group.

Many thanks


"Charlie Russel - MVP" <charlie@mvKILLALLSPAMMERSps.org> wrote in message
news:DB88034F-4709-4BFC-82A6-A60D0E15A2DB@microsoft.com...
> Well, you're right, it's not the right newsgroup. You should probably be
> in the server.sbs newsgroup. But, that being said:
> 1.) Windows Firewall on the target computer must be configured to allow
> connections.
> 2.) The client must be configured to allow connections. And it must allow
> connections from downlevel clients.
> 3.) The connecting user must be a member of the Remote Desktop Users
> security group. (In SBS, this means you use the wizards and the user
> connecting must be created using the Mobile Users template or above. Use
> the Change User Permissions wizard to fix this.
>
> 4.) What you really should be using in SBS is RPC over HTTP for Outlook.
> Log in to the Remote Web Workplace and you'll see a link on the right that
> says "use outlook over the internet" or something like that. Instructions
> are in there. It is FAR preferred over using VPN for this.
>
> --
> Charlie.
> http://msmvps.com/xperts64
> http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/profile/charlie.russel
>
>
> "Smiley" <firework123@googlemail.com> wrote in message
> news:fcotrq$rr$2$8300dec7@news.demon.co.uk...
>> Hi lister,
>>
>> May be posting to wrong forum, if so, please excuse me and redirect .
>>
>> Got this user who is on Vista Business Premium with Office 2007. There
>> has no of issues with the setup. The server is SBS 2003 with Exchange.
>>
>> The current hurdle is Outlook 2007 doesn't update the mails when connect
>> via VPN. Would see the server and everything was fine but when it comes
>> to exchange mail, there is always a message saying disconnecting on the
>> lower right corner.
>>
>> I have tried to rdp into user laptop to see what it actually saying but
>> can't rdp in, When logon as user, get the following error
>>
>> "To log on this remote computer, you must be granted the Allow log on
>> through Terminal Services right. By default, members of the Remote
>> Desktop Users group have this right. If you are not a member of the
>> Remote Desktop Users group or another group that has this right, or if
>> the Remote Desktop User Group does not have this right, you must be
>> granted this right manually."
>>
>> I have setup the user as local administrator, so what else do I need to
>> do to allow me to logon to see the originally complaint problem ?
>>
>> Many thanks,
>>
>> Smiley
>>

>




Charlie Russel - MVP 09-19-2007 06:10 PM

Re: Can't remote logon to Vista Business Premium laptop
 
1.) No, that's point 2. Control panel, Windows Firewall. Must have port open
for connection.
2.) this is your response to #1.
3.) good
4.) Personally, I'd push back hard. There is no valid reason to open a VPN
for outlook.

5.) Take this over to microsoft.public.windows.server.sbs - this is not a
64bit issue.

--
Charlie.
http://msmvps.com/xperts64
http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/profile/charlie.russel


"Smiley" <firework123@googlemail.com> wrote in message
news:fcrmub$j39$2$830fa79d@news.demon.co.uk...
> Hi there,
>
> Thank you for the input,
>
> With regard to your
> point 1 - firewall, are you refering to setup rdp on the remote tab on my
> computer properties setting. If so that is already done otherwise, would
> you please give more details.
> point 2 - don't understand.
> point 3 - done
> point 4 - I have setup others as rpc over http but some how the one in
> charge is not kind on it.
>
> Arranged with client to make laptop available to logon tomorrow. Shall
> update the group.
>
> Many thanks
>
>
> "Charlie Russel - MVP" <charlie@mvKILLALLSPAMMERSps.org> wrote in message
> news:DB88034F-4709-4BFC-82A6-A60D0E15A2DB@microsoft.com...
>> Well, you're right, it's not the right newsgroup. You should probably be
>> in the server.sbs newsgroup. But, that being said:
>> 1.) Windows Firewall on the target computer must be configured to allow
>> connections.
>> 2.) The client must be configured to allow connections. And it must allow
>> connections from downlevel clients.
>> 3.) The connecting user must be a member of the Remote Desktop Users
>> security group. (In SBS, this means you use the wizards and the user
>> connecting must be created using the Mobile Users template or above. Use
>> the Change User Permissions wizard to fix this.
>>
>> 4.) What you really should be using in SBS is RPC over HTTP for Outlook.
>> Log in to the Remote Web Workplace and you'll see a link on the right
>> that says "use outlook over the internet" or something like that.
>> Instructions are in there. It is FAR preferred over using VPN for this.
>>
>> --
>> Charlie.
>> http://msmvps.com/xperts64
>> http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/profile/charlie.russel
>>
>>
>> "Smiley" <firework123@googlemail.com> wrote in message
>> news:fcotrq$rr$2$8300dec7@news.demon.co.uk...
>>> Hi lister,
>>>
>>> May be posting to wrong forum, if so, please excuse me and redirect .
>>>
>>> Got this user who is on Vista Business Premium with Office 2007. There
>>> has no of issues with the setup. The server is SBS 2003 with Exchange.
>>>
>>> The current hurdle is Outlook 2007 doesn't update the mails when connect
>>> via VPN. Would see the server and everything was fine but when it comes
>>> to exchange mail, there is always a message saying disconnecting on the
>>> lower right corner.
>>>
>>> I have tried to rdp into user laptop to see what it actually saying but
>>> can't rdp in, When logon as user, get the following error
>>>
>>> "To log on this remote computer, you must be granted the Allow log on
>>> through Terminal Services right. By default, members of the Remote
>>> Desktop Users group have this right. If you are not a member of the
>>> Remote Desktop Users group or another group that has this right, or if
>>> the Remote Desktop User Group does not have this right, you must be
>>> granted this right manually."
>>>
>>> I have setup the user as local administrator, so what else do I need to
>>> do to allow me to logon to see the originally complaint problem ?
>>>
>>> Many thanks,
>>>
>>> Smiley
>>>

>>

>
>




All times are GMT. The time now is 03:00 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.