Velocity Reviews

Velocity Reviews (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/index.php)
-   Windows 64bit (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/f46-windows-64bit.html)
-   -   Over 4GB Memory on Intel D965PLT motherboard and poor performance (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/t524115-over-4gb-memory-on-intel-d965plt-motherboard-and-poor-performance.html)

=?Utf-8?B?SlRURklO?= 07-23-2007 12:40 PM

Over 4GB Memory on Intel D965PLT motherboard and poor performance
 
Hi all
Problem is quite simple (Windows XP Pro x64 with all updates)
computer is quite fast when it has 4GB memory
6GB it slows down
8 GB it stops responding at least after soundcard drivers have been installed,
but has very poor performance also before that.
I suppose this has somethin to do with PCI memory remapping,
but as it is Intel MB it has no such option on bios,
but what I have found allready it should be on by default.

I would also like to know if any one has working system
for Intel Core2Duo processor and Intel chipset with 8GB memory
fx. Asus, Intel MB's
Computer also has nVidia Quadro3450 graphics adapter with most recent drivers
may that cause the problem?

Best regards,
Jukka


jabloomf1230 07-24-2007 12:51 AM

Re: Over 4GB Memory on Intel D965PLT motherboard and poor performance
 
You didn't say what speed of RAM that you are using. The DP965LT will
only support the full 8 GB with DDR2 533 or DDR2 667. If you use DDR2
800, the board will support only 4 GB max. I assume that you are using 4
identical DIMMs of 2 GB each.

What Win XP x64 video driver version are you using? nVidia is up in
16x.xx range for the beta drivers. I only run Win XP x64 in double boot
with Vista and don't use it that much any more, but some the the early
video drivers would cause problems with > 2 GB RAM on the motherboard.

As to the PCI memory "hole" issue, are you using the most recent BIOS
(and chipset drivers)? If the PCI hole hardware remapping option doesn't
show up in the BIOS setup, then there is no way to compensate for this.
If the motherboard works fine at 4B of RAM, I don't see how this can be
your problem. But you never know with large amounts of RAM

JTTFIN wrote:
> Hi all
> Problem is quite simple (Windows XP Pro x64 with all updates)
> computer is quite fast when it has 4GB memory
> 6GB it slows down
> 8 GB it stops responding at least after soundcard drivers have been installed,
> but has very poor performance also before that.
> I suppose this has somethin to do with PCI memory remapping,
> but as it is Intel MB it has no such option on bios,
> but what I have found allready it should be on by default.
>
> I would also like to know if any one has working system
> for Intel Core2Duo processor and Intel chipset with 8GB memory
> fx. Asus, Intel MB's
> Computer also has nVidia Quadro3450 graphics adapter with most recent drivers
> may that cause the problem?
>
> Best regards,
> Jukka
>


=?Utf-8?B?SlRURklO?= 07-24-2007 06:38 AM

Re: Over 4GB Memory on Intel D965PLT motherboard and poor performa
 
Hi
Ram is Kingston
KVR667D2N5/2G 2GB 667MHz DDR2 Non-ECC CL5 DIMM *4 = 8GB
KVR667D2N5/2G 2GB 667MHz DDR2 Non-ECC CL5 DIMM *2
KVR667D2N5/1G 1GB 667MHz DDR2 Non-ECC CL5 DIMM *2 = 6GB
DIMM's have been cross chekced as all 2GB memories work fine
as 4 GB
Bios and all other drivers have loaded directly from Intel Web site

Nvidia Drivers are ForceWare Release 90 Version: 91.85
Release Date: April 13, 2007WHQL Certified

It is seems that there is quite few case's that
Pentium or Core2Duo have been used with that large amount RAM.
Most of these computers are Xeon based I suppose.
This is first one for us also to use so much ram on Pentium based computer.

/ Jukka

"jabloomf1230" wrote:

> You didn't say what speed of RAM that you are using. The DP965LT will
> only support the full 8 GB with DDR2 533 or DDR2 667. If you use DDR2
> 800, the board will support only 4 GB max. I assume that you are using 4
> identical DIMMs of 2 GB each.
>
> What Win XP x64 video driver version are you using? nVidia is up in
> 16x.xx range for the beta drivers. I only run Win XP x64 in double boot
> with Vista and don't use it that much any more, but some the the early
> video drivers would cause problems with > 2 GB RAM on the motherboard.
>
> As to the PCI memory "hole" issue, are you using the most recent BIOS
> (and chipset drivers)? If the PCI hole hardware remapping option doesn't
> show up in the BIOS setup, then there is no way to compensate for this.
> If the motherboard works fine at 4B of RAM, I don't see how this can be
> your problem. But you never know with large amounts of RAM
>
> JTTFIN wrote:
> > Hi all
> > Problem is quite simple (Windows XP Pro x64 with all updates)
> > computer is quite fast when it has 4GB memory
> > 6GB it slows down
> > 8 GB it stops responding at least after soundcard drivers have been installed,
> > but has very poor performance also before that.
> > I suppose this has somethin to do with PCI memory remapping,
> > but as it is Intel MB it has no such option on bios,
> > but what I have found allready it should be on by default.
> >
> > I would also like to know if any one has working system
> > for Intel Core2Duo processor and Intel chipset with 8GB memory
> > fx. Asus, Intel MB's
> > Computer also has nVidia Quadro3450 graphics adapter with most recent drivers
> > may that cause the problem?
> >
> > Best regards,
> > Jukka
> >

>


=?Utf-8?B?Q2Fyb2wgU3RlZWxl?= 07-24-2007 08:04 AM

Re: Over 4GB Memory on Intel D965PLT motherboard and poor performa
 
I've been using 8Gb RAM (Corsair DDR2/800 (6400) CL5) on my mobo (Gigabyte
GA-965P-DQ6 Rev 1.0) for around a month now. The only problem that I have
seen is that very occasionally it reboots when it gets to the point of
loading XP x64. Second reboot is always successful. I've tried tweaking the
voltage to the RAM, but it still happens so I've reset it to stock voltage
(1.8v).

Other than that everything runs normally (and fast).

"JTTFIN" wrote:

> Hi
> Ram is Kingston
> KVR667D2N5/2G 2GB 667MHz DDR2 Non-ECC CL5 DIMM *4 = 8GB
> KVR667D2N5/2G 2GB 667MHz DDR2 Non-ECC CL5 DIMM *2
> KVR667D2N5/1G 1GB 667MHz DDR2 Non-ECC CL5 DIMM *2 = 6GB
> DIMM's have been cross chekced as all 2GB memories work fine
> as 4 GB
> Bios and all other drivers have loaded directly from Intel Web site
>
> Nvidia Drivers are ForceWare Release 90 Version: 91.85
> Release Date: April 13, 2007WHQL Certified
>
> It is seems that there is quite few case's that
> Pentium or Core2Duo have been used with that large amount RAM.
> Most of these computers are Xeon based I suppose.
> This is first one for us also to use so much ram on Pentium based computer.
>
> / Jukka
>
> "jabloomf1230" wrote:
>
> > You didn't say what speed of RAM that you are using. The DP965LT will
> > only support the full 8 GB with DDR2 533 or DDR2 667. If you use DDR2
> > 800, the board will support only 4 GB max. I assume that you are using 4
> > identical DIMMs of 2 GB each.
> >
> > What Win XP x64 video driver version are you using? nVidia is up in
> > 16x.xx range for the beta drivers. I only run Win XP x64 in double boot
> > with Vista and don't use it that much any more, but some the the early
> > video drivers would cause problems with > 2 GB RAM on the motherboard.
> >
> > As to the PCI memory "hole" issue, are you using the most recent BIOS
> > (and chipset drivers)? If the PCI hole hardware remapping option doesn't
> > show up in the BIOS setup, then there is no way to compensate for this.
> > If the motherboard works fine at 4B of RAM, I don't see how this can be
> > your problem. But you never know with large amounts of RAM
> >
> > JTTFIN wrote:
> > > Hi all
> > > Problem is quite simple (Windows XP Pro x64 with all updates)
> > > computer is quite fast when it has 4GB memory
> > > 6GB it slows down
> > > 8 GB it stops responding at least after soundcard drivers have been installed,
> > > but has very poor performance also before that.
> > > I suppose this has somethin to do with PCI memory remapping,
> > > but as it is Intel MB it has no such option on bios,
> > > but what I have found allready it should be on by default.
> > >
> > > I would also like to know if any one has working system
> > > for Intel Core2Duo processor and Intel chipset with 8GB memory
> > > fx. Asus, Intel MB's
> > > Computer also has nVidia Quadro3450 graphics adapter with most recent drivers
> > > may that cause the problem?
> > >
> > > Best regards,
> > > Jukka
> > >

> >



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:52 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.