Velocity Reviews

Velocity Reviews (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/index.php)
-   Digital Photography (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/f37-digital-photography.html)
-   -   Nikon D70 and Macro Rings (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/t416868-nikon-d70-and-macro-rings.html)

TycoonUK 07-12-2005 12:24 AM

Nikon D70 and Macro Rings
 
Hi,

Where can I find information using macro rings on a D70.

Thanks
TycoonUK
http://www.worldofmonopoly.co.uk

[BnH] 07-12-2005 04:33 AM

Re: Nikon D70 and Macro Rings
 
Goto Nikon website and look for SB-29s speedlight.

=bob=

"TycoonUK" <tycoonuk@hotmailnospam.com> wrote in message
news:nd36d11vrtspmflcn6mnni3b1mtdadl4gc@4ax.com...
> Hi,
>
> Where can I find information using macro rings on a D70.
>
> Thanks
> TycoonUK
> http://www.worldofmonopoly.co.uk




frederick 07-12-2005 08:29 AM

Re: Nikon D70 and Macro Rings
 
TycoonUK wrote:
> Hi,
>
> Where can I find information using macro rings on a D70.
>
> Thanks
> TycoonUK
> http://www.worldofmonopoly.co.uk



I assume that you mean extension tubes.
Old tubes that do not have the electrical contacts will not give you
any metering on a D70.
Unless someone makes extension tubes that connect the focus screw from
the body through to the lens, then AF will not work (not that AF is very
useful for macro anyway).
Marumi make a set of Nikon mount, non-AF - but with the electrical
contacts extension tubes that work fine. IIRC price may be around
US$100 for a set of three.

Hans S 07-12-2005 08:35 AM

Re: Nikon D70 and Macro Rings
 
TycoonUK wrote:

> Where can I find information using macro rings on a D70.


Do you mean extension tubes?

(e.g. http://www.thkphoto.com/products/kenko/slrc-04.html)

Ed Ruf 07-12-2005 10:22 AM

Re: Nikon D70 and Macro Rings
 
On Tue, 12 Jul 2005 00:24:50 GMT, in rec.photo.digital TycoonUK
<tycoonuk@hotmailnospam.com> wrote:

>Where can I find information using macro rings on a D70.


What info are you looking for?
----------
Ed Ruf Lifetime AMA# 344007 (Usenet@EdwardG.Ruf.com)
See images taken with my CP-990/5700 & D70 at
http://edwardgruf.com/Digital_Photog...ral/index.html

Kitt 07-12-2005 10:59 AM

Re: Nikon D70 and Macro Rings
 
I assume, like the rest that you're talking about extension tubes, but
on the off chance that you mean a set of close up lenses or dioptors, I
got a set for the kit lens on ebay for around $50. In fact, they came
from the UK and delivery was in good time here in the US, so your's
should be even quicker. They work fine within their limits. I have
another lens now and use them little, but they're handy to carry if you
just take the kit lens for a walk and happen to see a macro subject.
(They're pretty big, but will fit in a pocket.)


TycoonUK 07-12-2005 11:04 PM

Re: Nikon D70 and Macro Rings
 
On 12 Jul 2005 08:35:52 GMT, "Hans S"
<i.dont.want.spam@xs4all.invalid> wrote:

>TycoonUK wrote:
>
>> Where can I find information using macro rings on a D70.

>
>Do you mean extension tubes?
>
>(e.g. http://www.thkphoto.com/products/kenko/slrc-04.html)



Hi,

Yes I mean extension tubes.
I got some from a friend of a friend and just would like some idea how
to use them?
I know how to put them together, but it is using them with the D70 I
could do with help.

Thanks

TycoonUK

Deedee Tee 07-13-2005 01:25 AM

Re: Nikon D70 and Macro Rings
 
On Tue, 12 Jul 2005 23:04:02 GMT, TycoonUK
<tycoonuk@hotmailnospam.com> wrote:

>Yes I mean extension tubes.
>I got some from a friend of a friend and just would like some idea how
>to use them?
>I know how to put them together, but it is using them with the D70 I
>could do with help.


That depends on whether the tubes you have possess the electrical
transmissions for diaphragm and autofocus, and/or the screwdriver
transmission for mechanical autofocus (the D70 has all these).

In macro, autofocus is practically useless, so you should use manual
focus anyway. If the tubes have no electric contacts to read the
diaphragm opening, only manual exposure is possible with a D70. You
can use an external meter and compensate for the length of the tubes
(two stops for 1:1 ratio, I believe), but it is easier to make a
couple of test shots before taking the "real" one and check the
exposure with the histogram on the LCD screen of the D70.

If you use flash (in manual mode), exposure will always be essentially
the same for a given magnification ratio, diaphragm setting and flash
power, so you could compile a table of these values and use it as an
initial setting (and then compensate for very light or dark subjects).


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.