Velocity Reviews

Velocity Reviews (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/index.php)
-   Wireless Networking (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/f19-wireless-networking.html)
-   -   XP Pro and Wireless (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/t4071-xp-pro-and-wireless.html)

Chris 07-28-2004 10:31 AM

XP Pro and Wireless
 
I can connect to the network at my work but when I bring
my machine home, it picks up an 169.x.x.x ip address and
I cannot connect. As soon as I disable and enable the
Wireless network adapter everything seems to work fine
and I can connect normally. What's the problem?

Can I configure the wireless for multiple networks?

Jack 07-28-2004 07:21 PM

Re: XP Pro and Wireless
 
Hi.

Your work settings are not the same as Home.

WinXP can accommodate two different settings for Network.

Or use this: www.netswitcher.com

Jack (MVP-Networking).



"Chris" <anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:595e01c4748e$069850c0$a301280a@phx.gbl...
> I can connect to the network at my work but when I bring
> my machine home, it picks up an 169.x.x.x ip address and
> I cannot connect. As soon as I disable and enable the
> Wireless network adapter everything seems to work fine
> and I can connect normally. What's the problem?
>
> Can I configure the wireless for multiple networks?




Simon Pleasants 07-30-2004 09:31 AM

Re: XP Pro and Wireless
 
On Wed, 28 Jul 2004 03:31:21 -0700, "Chris"
<anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:

>I can connect to the network at my work but when I bring
>my machine home, it picks up an 169.x.x.x ip address and
>I cannot connect. As soon as I disable and enable the
>Wireless network adapter everything seems to work fine
>and I can connect normally. What's the problem?
>
>Can I configure the wireless for multiple networks?


You've not said anything about your equipment. I am presuming you
have security enabled on your home network as the IP address being
assigned suggests to me that you've tried to log into the network and
successfully negotiated a connection but security criteria which means
you're not really logged in at all and hence cannot make use of
anything. In my experience, if the client completely fails to
communicate with the network the IP address is 0.0.0.0 - hence my
suggestion you are falling down on security.

As another poster has pointed out it seems that you're trying to log
into your home network using the same settings as your work one. This
should not work (unless both have no security whatsoever) and clearly
does not work. XP allows you to store more than one setting but
better still most manufacturers provide a native GUI with their PCMCIA
cards and this should allow you to store multiple profiles so you
simply choose your home or work profile and it will automatically know
the settings to use to make a successful connection to the network.

Joshua Teague [MSFT] 07-30-2004 03:48 PM

Re: XP Pro and Wireless
 
I'll answer as best I can with the details provided. If you are using the
Windows Zero Config service, wzcsvc then you need to setup another entry in
your preferred network list for you home network. Go to the properties
window for the wireless adapter and add the correct settings for you home
network into the preferred networks section. At this time you may also want
to uncheck the "connect to non-preferred networks" options as well. That
will tell you computer to only connect to networks on the preferred list.
Once you have your home network settings and you work networks settings in
your preferred list the computer should connect to which ever network is in
range. Please note if you are using the utility form your wireless adapter
manufacture you will need to read their documentation to do this with their
software.


--
Joshua
[MSFT]
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.


"Chris" <anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:595e01c4748e$069850c0$a301280a@phx.gbl...
I can connect to the network at my work but when I bring
my machine home, it picks up an 169.x.x.x ip address and
I cannot connect. As soon as I disable and enable the
Wireless network adapter everything seems to work fine
and I can connect normally. What's the problem?

Can I configure the wireless for multiple networks?



mshannon@videotron.ca 08-09-2004 08:24 PM

Re: XP Pro and Wireless
 
Check-out "Plug and Browse" at www.interactive-studios.net. It allows
you to store multiple network configurations and switch between them
as needed. The program can store network connection settings, computer
name and domain, Internet Explorer, etc.


"Joshua Teague [MSFT]" <jteague@online.microsoft.com> wrote in message news:<OvsYrykdEHA.1396@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl>...
> I'll answer as best I can with the details provided. If you are using the
> Windows Zero Config service, wzcsvc then you need to setup another entry in
> your preferred network list for you home network. Go to the properties
> window for the wireless adapter and add the correct settings for you home
> network into the preferred networks section. At this time you may also want
> to uncheck the "connect to non-preferred networks" options as well. That
> will tell you computer to only connect to networks on the preferred list.
> Once you have your home network settings and you work networks settings in
> your preferred list the computer should connect to which ever network is in
> range. Please note if you are using the utility form your wireless adapter
> manufacture you will need to read their documentation to do this with their
> software.
>
>
> --
> Joshua
> [MSFT]
> This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.
>
>
> "Chris" <anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:595e01c4748e$069850c0$a301280a@phx.gbl...
> I can connect to the network at my work but when I bring
> my machine home, it picks up an 169.x.x.x ip address and
> I cannot connect. As soon as I disable and enable the
> Wireless network adapter everything seems to work fine
> and I can connect normally. What's the problem?
>
> Can I configure the wireless for multiple networks?



All times are GMT. The time now is 04:40 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.