Velocity Reviews

Velocity Reviews (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/index.php)
-   Cisco (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/f27-cisco.html)
-   -   Frame Relay Issues (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/t35189-frame-relay-issues.html)

adam 08-31-2004 02:59 PM

Frame Relay Issues
 
I having been trying to setup a frame relay using sub interfaces:

Router A
!
interface Serial0
no ip address
no ip directed-broadcast
encapsulation frame-relay
!
interface Serial0.100 point-to-point
ip address 192.168.103.2 255.255.255.252
no ip directed-broadcast
frame-relay interface-dlci 100
!

Router B

!
interface Serial0
no ip address
encapsulation frame-relay
!
interface Serial0.100 point-to-point
ip address 192.168.103.1 255.255.255.252
frame-relay interface-dlci 100
!

At first the connection comes up but then i get:

18:03:50: %FR-5-DLCICHANGE: Interface Serial0 - DLCI 100 state changed
to INACTIVE
18:03:50: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface Serial0.100,
changed state to down
18:03:50: %FR-5-DLCICHANGE: Interface Serial0 - DLCI 100 state changed
to DELETED
18:03:51: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface Serial0,
changed state to down

the config seems pretty straight forward but i believe i am missing
something, what i am not sure.

adam 08-31-2004 03:11 PM

Re: Frame Relay Issues
 
I should say that i am using a V.35 DCE and DTE cable to connect the
routers serial ports. I then connected the DCE to the DTE cable. I
don't even know if that is correct or not.

adam wrote:

> I having been trying to setup a frame relay using sub interfaces:
>
> Router A
> !
> interface Serial0
> no ip address
> no ip directed-broadcast
> encapsulation frame-relay
> !
> interface Serial0.100 point-to-point
> ip address 192.168.103.2 255.255.255.252
> no ip directed-broadcast
> frame-relay interface-dlci 100
> !
>
> Router B
>
> !
> interface Serial0
> no ip address
> encapsulation frame-relay
> !
> interface Serial0.100 point-to-point
> ip address 192.168.103.1 255.255.255.252
> frame-relay interface-dlci 100
> !
>
> At first the connection comes up but then i get:
>
> 18:03:50: %FR-5-DLCICHANGE: Interface Serial0 - DLCI 100 state changed
> to INACTIVE
> 18:03:50: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface Serial0.100,
> changed state to down
> 18:03:50: %FR-5-DLCICHANGE: Interface Serial0 - DLCI 100 state changed
> to DELETED
> 18:03:51: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface Serial0,
> changed state to down
>
> the config seems pretty straight forward but i believe i am missing
> something, what i am not sure.


Anthony Louis Swanson 08-31-2004 03:15 PM

Re: Frame Relay Issues
 
Are you connecting them directly together?

adam wrote:
> I should say that i am using a V.35 DCE and DTE cable to connect the
> routers serial ports. I then connected the DCE to the DTE cable. I
> don't even know if that is correct or not.
>
> adam wrote:
>
>> I having been trying to setup a frame relay using sub interfaces:
>>
>> Router A
>> !
>> interface Serial0
>> no ip address
>> no ip directed-broadcast
>> encapsulation frame-relay
>> !
>> interface Serial0.100 point-to-point
>> ip address 192.168.103.2 255.255.255.252
>> no ip directed-broadcast
>> frame-relay interface-dlci 100
>> !
>>
>> Router B
>>
>> !
>> interface Serial0
>> no ip address
>> encapsulation frame-relay
>> !
>> interface Serial0.100 point-to-point
>> ip address 192.168.103.1 255.255.255.252
>> frame-relay interface-dlci 100
>> !
>>
>> At first the connection comes up but then i get:
>>
>> 18:03:50: %FR-5-DLCICHANGE: Interface Serial0 - DLCI 100 state changed
>> to INACTIVE
>> 18:03:50: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface Serial0.100,
>> changed state to down
>> 18:03:50: %FR-5-DLCICHANGE: Interface Serial0 - DLCI 100 state changed
>> to DELETED
>> 18:03:51: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface Serial0,
>> changed state to down
>>
>> the config seems pretty straight forward but i believe i am missing
>> something, what i am not sure.

>



adam 08-31-2004 03:38 PM

Re: Frame Relay Issues
 
yes i connect as following

Router A serial 0 DCE ---> DTE ---> Serial 0 Router B

Anthony Louis Swanson wrote:

> Are you connecting them directly together?
>
> adam wrote:
>
>> I should say that i am using a V.35 DCE and DTE cable to connect the
>> routers serial ports. I then connected the DCE to the DTE cable. I
>> don't even know if that is correct or not.
>>
>> adam wrote:
>>
>>> I having been trying to setup a frame relay using sub interfaces:
>>>
>>> Router A
>>> !
>>> interface Serial0
>>> no ip address
>>> no ip directed-broadcast
>>> encapsulation frame-relay
>>> !
>>> interface Serial0.100 point-to-point
>>> ip address 192.168.103.2 255.255.255.252
>>> no ip directed-broadcast
>>> frame-relay interface-dlci 100
>>> !
>>>
>>> Router B
>>>
>>> !
>>> interface Serial0
>>> no ip address
>>> encapsulation frame-relay
>>> !
>>> interface Serial0.100 point-to-point
>>> ip address 192.168.103.1 255.255.255.252
>>> frame-relay interface-dlci 100
>>> !
>>>
>>> At first the connection comes up but then i get:
>>>
>>> 18:03:50: %FR-5-DLCICHANGE: Interface Serial0 - DLCI 100 state
>>> changed to INACTIVE
>>> 18:03:50: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface
>>> Serial0.100, changed state to down
>>> 18:03:50: %FR-5-DLCICHANGE: Interface Serial0 - DLCI 100 state
>>> changed to DELETED
>>> 18:03:51: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface Serial0,
>>> changed state to down
>>>
>>> the config seems pretty straight forward but i believe i am missing
>>> something, what i am not sure.

>>
>>

>


Dede 08-31-2004 03:43 PM

Re: Frame Relay Issues
 
For back-to-back FR connection, you have to switch off LMI, and apply clock
at the DCE side (just like ordinary serial back to back.).

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk71...80094a3b.shtml


"adam" <whiteikon@comcast.net> ???
news:rn0Zc.43452$JG7.20675@hydra.nntpserver.com ???...
> I having been trying to setup a frame relay using sub interfaces:
>
> Router A
> !
> interface Serial0
> no ip address
> no ip directed-broadcast
> encapsulation frame-relay
> !
> interface Serial0.100 point-to-point
> ip address 192.168.103.2 255.255.255.252
> no ip directed-broadcast
> frame-relay interface-dlci 100
> !
>
> Router B
>
> !
> interface Serial0
> no ip address
> encapsulation frame-relay
> !
> interface Serial0.100 point-to-point
> ip address 192.168.103.1 255.255.255.252
> frame-relay interface-dlci 100
> !
>
> At first the connection comes up but then i get:
>
> 18:03:50: %FR-5-DLCICHANGE: Interface Serial0 - DLCI 100 state changed
> to INACTIVE
> 18:03:50: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface Serial0.100,
> changed state to down
> 18:03:50: %FR-5-DLCICHANGE: Interface Serial0 - DLCI 100 state changed
> to DELETED
> 18:03:51: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface Serial0,
> changed state to down
>
> the config seems pretty straight forward but i believe i am missing
> something, what i am not sure.



--
~ Samba, more than a low cost File and Printer server ~

-- Let us OpenSource --


-----= Posted via Newsfeeds.Com, Uncensored Usenet News =-----
http://www.newsfeeds.com - The #1 Newsgroup Service in the World!
-----== Over 100,000 Newsgroups - 19 Different Servers! =-----

Anthony Louis Swanson 08-31-2004 03:50 PM

Re: Frame Relay Issues
 
For the type of configuration you are doing, you would need to setup a
frame-relay switch in middle to emulate a frame-relay connection. This
would require another router in the middle. The simple back-to-back
config that Dede replied with should work fine.

Dede wrote:
> For back-to-back FR connection, you have to switch off LMI, and apply clock
> at the DCE side (just like ordinary serial back to back.).
>
> http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk71...80094a3b.shtml
>
>
> "adam" <whiteikon@comcast.net> ???
> news:rn0Zc.43452$JG7.20675@hydra.nntpserver.com ???...
>
>>I having been trying to setup a frame relay using sub interfaces:
>>
>>Router A
>>!
>>interface Serial0
>> no ip address
>> no ip directed-broadcast
>> encapsulation frame-relay
>>!
>>interface Serial0.100 point-to-point
>> ip address 192.168.103.2 255.255.255.252
>> no ip directed-broadcast
>> frame-relay interface-dlci 100
>>!
>>
>>Router B
>>
>>!
>>interface Serial0
>> no ip address
>> encapsulation frame-relay
>>!
>>interface Serial0.100 point-to-point
>> ip address 192.168.103.1 255.255.255.252
>> frame-relay interface-dlci 100
>>!
>>
>>At first the connection comes up but then i get:
>>
>>18:03:50: %FR-5-DLCICHANGE: Interface Serial0 - DLCI 100 state changed
>>to INACTIVE
>>18:03:50: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface Serial0.100,
>>changed state to down
>>18:03:50: %FR-5-DLCICHANGE: Interface Serial0 - DLCI 100 state changed
>>to DELETED
>>18:03:51: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface Serial0,
>>changed state to down
>>
>>the config seems pretty straight forward but i believe i am missing
>>something, what i am not sure.

>
>
>



adam 08-31-2004 04:04 PM

Re: Frame Relay Issues
 
I applied the information the Dede supplied and it now works in one
direction ie i can use a terminal on e0 on router a to talk to a
terminal on e0 on router b. But i cannot get a terminal on e0 on router
b to talk to a terminal on e0 on router a. I am presuming that i need
that other router to emulate the frame-relay connection, but what
settings do i give the router in the middle?

Anthony Louis Swanson wrote:

> For the type of configuration you are doing, you would need to setup a
> frame-relay switch in middle to emulate a frame-relay connection. This
> would require another router in the middle. The simple back-to-back
> config that Dede replied with should work fine.
>
> Dede wrote:
>
>> For back-to-back FR connection, you have to switch off LMI, and apply
>> clock
>> at the DCE side (just like ordinary serial back to back.).
>>
>> http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk71...80094a3b.shtml
>>
>>
>>
>> "adam" <whiteikon@comcast.net> ???
>> news:rn0Zc.43452$JG7.20675@hydra.nntpserver.com ???...
>>
>>> I having been trying to setup a frame relay using sub interfaces:
>>>
>>> Router A
>>> !
>>> interface Serial0
>>> no ip address
>>> no ip directed-broadcast
>>> encapsulation frame-relay
>>> !
>>> interface Serial0.100 point-to-point
>>> ip address 192.168.103.2 255.255.255.252
>>> no ip directed-broadcast
>>> frame-relay interface-dlci 100
>>> !
>>>
>>> Router B
>>>
>>> !
>>> interface Serial0
>>> no ip address
>>> encapsulation frame-relay
>>> !
>>> interface Serial0.100 point-to-point
>>> ip address 192.168.103.1 255.255.255.252
>>> frame-relay interface-dlci 100
>>> !
>>>
>>> At first the connection comes up but then i get:
>>>
>>> 18:03:50: %FR-5-DLCICHANGE: Interface Serial0 - DLCI 100 state changed
>>> to INACTIVE
>>> 18:03:50: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface Serial0.100,
>>> changed state to down
>>> 18:03:50: %FR-5-DLCICHANGE: Interface Serial0 - DLCI 100 state changed
>>> to DELETED
>>> 18:03:51: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface Serial0,
>>> changed state to down
>>>
>>> the config seems pretty straight forward but i believe i am missing
>>> something, what i am not sure.

>>
>>
>>
>>

>


Anthony Louis Swanson 08-31-2004 04:54 PM

Re: Frame Relay Issues
 
If you can telnet to one router you should be able to telnet to the
other if they are directly connected. Are you sure you have setup a
password and login on the VTY lines on router a? Is there any error when
you attempt to connect?


adam wrote:
> I applied the information the Dede supplied and it now works in one
> direction ie i can use a terminal on e0 on router a to talk to a
> terminal on e0 on router b. But i cannot get a terminal on e0 on router
> b to talk to a terminal on e0 on router a. I am presuming that i need
> that other router to emulate the frame-relay connection, but what
> settings do i give the router in the middle?
>
> Anthony Louis Swanson wrote:
>
>> For the type of configuration you are doing, you would need to setup a
>> frame-relay switch in middle to emulate a frame-relay connection. This
>> would require another router in the middle. The simple back-to-back
>> config that Dede replied with should work fine.
>>
>> Dede wrote:
>>
>>> For back-to-back FR connection, you have to switch off LMI, and apply
>>> clock
>>> at the DCE side (just like ordinary serial back to back.).
>>>
>>> http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk71...80094a3b.shtml
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>> "adam" <whiteikon@comcast.net> ???
>>> news:rn0Zc.43452$JG7.20675@hydra.nntpserver.com ???...
>>>
>>>> I having been trying to setup a frame relay using sub interfaces:
>>>>
>>>> Router A
>>>> !
>>>> interface Serial0
>>>> no ip address
>>>> no ip directed-broadcast
>>>> encapsulation frame-relay
>>>> !
>>>> interface Serial0.100 point-to-point
>>>> ip address 192.168.103.2 255.255.255.252
>>>> no ip directed-broadcast
>>>> frame-relay interface-dlci 100
>>>> !
>>>>
>>>> Router B
>>>>
>>>> !
>>>> interface Serial0
>>>> no ip address
>>>> encapsulation frame-relay
>>>> !
>>>> interface Serial0.100 point-to-point
>>>> ip address 192.168.103.1 255.255.255.252
>>>> frame-relay interface-dlci 100
>>>> !
>>>>
>>>> At first the connection comes up but then i get:
>>>>
>>>> 18:03:50: %FR-5-DLCICHANGE: Interface Serial0 - DLCI 100 state changed
>>>> to INACTIVE
>>>> 18:03:50: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface Serial0.100,
>>>> changed state to down
>>>> 18:03:50: %FR-5-DLCICHANGE: Interface Serial0 - DLCI 100 state changed
>>>> to DELETED
>>>> 18:03:51: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface Serial0,
>>>> changed state to down
>>>>
>>>> the config seems pretty straight forward but i believe i am missing
>>>> something, what i am not sure.
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>

>>



adam 08-31-2004 05:32 PM

Re: Frame Relay Issues
 
I don't think i explained myself well.

I have a terminal (computer for better word) that has an ip address of
192.168.102.5 which is connected to a switch which connects to e0 on
router a which can connect to another computer on 10.1.1.14 on e0 of
router b. but computer with ip of 10.1.1.14 on e0 of router b cannot
talk to computer with ip of 192.168.102.5 on e0 of router a. from
router a i can ping 192.168.102.5, but not from router b. I can ping
10.1.1.14 from router a and from router b.

------ 192.168.102.0/24
|
| Ethernet
|
------ E0 192.168.102.1
- - Router A
------ S0 192.168.103.2
|
| V.35
|
------ S0 192.168.103.1
- - Router A
------ E0 10.1.1.41
|
| Ethernet
|
------ 10.1.1.0/24

Anthony Louis Swanson wrote:

> If you can telnet to one router you should be able to telnet to the
> other if they are directly connected. Are you sure you have setup a
> password and login on the VTY lines on router a? Is there any error when
> you attempt to connect?
>
>
> adam wrote:
>
>> I applied the information the Dede supplied and it now works in one
>> direction ie i can use a terminal on e0 on router a to talk to a
>> terminal on e0 on router b. But i cannot get a terminal on e0 on
>> router b to talk to a terminal on e0 on router a. I am presuming that
>> i need that other router to emulate the frame-relay connection, but
>> what settings do i give the router in the middle?
>>
>> Anthony Louis Swanson wrote:
>>
>>> For the type of configuration you are doing, you would need to setup
>>> a frame-relay switch in middle to emulate a frame-relay connection.
>>> This would require another router in the middle. The simple
>>> back-to-back config that Dede replied with should work fine.
>>>
>>> Dede wrote:
>>>
>>>> For back-to-back FR connection, you have to switch off LMI, and
>>>> apply clock
>>>> at the DCE side (just like ordinary serial back to back.).
>>>>
>>>> http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk71...80094a3b.shtml
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>> "adam" <whiteikon@comcast.net> ???
>>>> news:rn0Zc.43452$JG7.20675@hydra.nntpserver.com ???...
>>>>
>>>>> I having been trying to setup a frame relay using sub interfaces:
>>>>>
>>>>> Router A
>>>>> !
>>>>> interface Serial0
>>>>> no ip address
>>>>> no ip directed-broadcast
>>>>> encapsulation frame-relay
>>>>> !
>>>>> interface Serial0.100 point-to-point
>>>>> ip address 192.168.103.2 255.255.255.252
>>>>> no ip directed-broadcast
>>>>> frame-relay interface-dlci 100
>>>>> !
>>>>>
>>>>> Router B
>>>>>
>>>>> !
>>>>> interface Serial0
>>>>> no ip address
>>>>> encapsulation frame-relay
>>>>> !
>>>>> interface Serial0.100 point-to-point
>>>>> ip address 192.168.103.1 255.255.255.252
>>>>> frame-relay interface-dlci 100
>>>>> !
>>>>>
>>>>> At first the connection comes up but then i get:
>>>>>
>>>>> 18:03:50: %FR-5-DLCICHANGE: Interface Serial0 - DLCI 100 state changed
>>>>> to INACTIVE
>>>>> 18:03:50: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface Serial0.100,
>>>>> changed state to down
>>>>> 18:03:50: %FR-5-DLCICHANGE: Interface Serial0 - DLCI 100 state changed
>>>>> to DELETED
>>>>> 18:03:51: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface Serial0,
>>>>> changed state to down
>>>>>
>>>>> the config seems pretty straight forward but i believe i am missing
>>>>> something, what i am not sure.
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>

>


Ronald 09-07-2004 05:50 PM

Re: Frame Relay Issues
 
Hi Adam,

I am missing the routing info in your config. What I expect what is
happening is that you have correctly configured the default gateway on
both end-stations. Furthermore I think that you have configred the
routing correctly on router A, but not on router B. As a result if
router A tries to reach 10.1.1.14 it will correctly send that ICMP
message to Router B which forwards it to the destination. The ICMP echo
does even get a reply. How come? very simple. Router A is using the IP
address of the serial interface as source for the ping.

given that router B does "know" the network 192.168.103.0 as directly
connected the replies get delivered. However if you try to reach the
host from the terminal on the ethernet segment on router A, router B
doesn't know about this network and drops the packets.

if you would enter on router A:
ip route 10.1.1.0 255.255.255.0 192.168.103.1

and on router B:
ip route 192.168.102.0 255.255.255.0 192.168.103.2

you will most likely see that the terminals can reach eachother (given
that both end-station networks are now "known").

best regards and good luck.
Ronald.


adam wrote:
> I don't think i explained myself well.
>
> I have a terminal (computer for better word) that has an ip address of
> 192.168.102.5 which is connected to a switch which connects to e0 on
> router a which can connect to another computer on 10.1.1.14 on e0 of
> router b. but computer with ip of 10.1.1.14 on e0 of router b cannot
> talk to computer with ip of 192.168.102.5 on e0 of router a. from
> router a i can ping 192.168.102.5, but not from router b. I can ping
> 10.1.1.14 from router a and from router b.
>
> ------ 192.168.102.0/24
> |
> | Ethernet
> |
> ------ E0 192.168.102.1
> - - Router A
> ------ S0 192.168.103.2
> |
> | V.35
> |
> ------ S0 192.168.103.1
> - - Router A
> ------ E0 10.1.1.41
> |
> | Ethernet
> |
> ------ 10.1.1.0/24
>
> Anthony Louis Swanson wrote:
>
>> If you can telnet to one router you should be able to telnet to the
>> other if they are directly connected. Are you sure you have setup a
>> password and login on the VTY lines on router a? Is there any error
>> when you attempt to connect?
>>
>>
>> adam wrote:
>>
>>> I applied the information the Dede supplied and it now works in one
>>> direction ie i can use a terminal on e0 on router a to talk to a
>>> terminal on e0 on router b. But i cannot get a terminal on e0 on
>>> router b to talk to a terminal on e0 on router a. I am presuming
>>> that i need that other router to emulate the frame-relay connection,
>>> but what settings do i give the router in the middle?
>>>
>>> Anthony Louis Swanson wrote:
>>>
>>>> For the type of configuration you are doing, you would need to setup
>>>> a frame-relay switch in middle to emulate a frame-relay connection.
>>>> This would require another router in the middle. The simple
>>>> back-to-back config that Dede replied with should work fine.
>>>>
>>>> Dede wrote:
>>>>
>>>>> For back-to-back FR connection, you have to switch off LMI, and
>>>>> apply clock
>>>>> at the DCE side (just like ordinary serial back to back.).
>>>>>
>>>>> http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk71...80094a3b.shtml
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>> "adam" <whiteikon@comcast.net> ???
>>>>> news:rn0Zc.43452$JG7.20675@hydra.nntpserver.com ???...
>>>>>
>>>>>> I having been trying to setup a frame relay using sub interfaces:
>>>>>>
>>>>>> Router A
>>>>>> !
>>>>>> interface Serial0
>>>>>> no ip address
>>>>>> no ip directed-broadcast
>>>>>> encapsulation frame-relay
>>>>>> !
>>>>>> interface Serial0.100 point-to-point
>>>>>> ip address 192.168.103.2 255.255.255.252
>>>>>> no ip directed-broadcast
>>>>>> frame-relay interface-dlci 100
>>>>>> !
>>>>>>
>>>>>> Router B
>>>>>>
>>>>>> !
>>>>>> interface Serial0
>>>>>> no ip address
>>>>>> encapsulation frame-relay
>>>>>> !
>>>>>> interface Serial0.100 point-to-point
>>>>>> ip address 192.168.103.1 255.255.255.252
>>>>>> frame-relay interface-dlci 100
>>>>>> !
>>>>>>
>>>>>> At first the connection comes up but then i get:
>>>>>>
>>>>>> 18:03:50: %FR-5-DLCICHANGE: Interface Serial0 - DLCI 100 state
>>>>>> changed
>>>>>> to INACTIVE
>>>>>> 18:03:50: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface
>>>>>> Serial0.100,
>>>>>> changed state to down
>>>>>> 18:03:50: %FR-5-DLCICHANGE: Interface Serial0 - DLCI 100 state
>>>>>> changed
>>>>>> to DELETED
>>>>>> 18:03:51: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface Serial0,
>>>>>> changed state to down
>>>>>>
>>>>>> the config seems pretty straight forward but i believe i am missing
>>>>>> something, what i am not sure.
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>

>>



All times are GMT. The time now is 05:09 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.