Velocity Reviews

Velocity Reviews (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/index.php)
-   Cisco (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/f27-cisco.html)
-   -   Router RIP Network Command Help (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/t35157-router-rip-network-command-help.html)

David Jones 08-29-2004 09:06 PM

Router RIP Network Command Help
 
Hey gang,
I'm working with a pair of 2501's connected directly together S0-S1
back to back. In working towards my CCNA, I'm trying to make them talk
and have hit a problem.

To make it all work with my existing network, I'm staying within my
private 192.168.X.X network. On my serial interfaces, I'm using the
192.168.2.0 and 192.168.2.4 networks, each with the 30 bit mask. I
have successfully gotten network 192.168.0.0 and network 192.168.2.0
working, but network 192.168.2.4 won't hold. When I enter the command,
I get no indication of an error, but when I show run, it does not
appear. I have tried it with both no ip classless and ip classless.

Below you'll find my running-config. Please let me know what I'm
missing, or what I need to change.

This may seem to be a stupid question, but I'm a relative newbie. :)

Thanks ~ David

version 12.2
service timestamps debug uptime
service timestamps log uptime
no service password-encryption
service udp-small-servers
service tcp-small-servers
!
hostname "Router2501T"
!
enable secret 5 $1$KBFL$nyWLe9tSecG9O.7MdklTw0
!
no ip subnet-zero
!
!
!
!
interface Ethernet0
ip address 192.168.0.254 255.255.255.0
no mop enabled
!
interface Serial0
ip address 192.168.2.1 255.255.255.252
!
interface Serial1
ip address 192.168.2.5 255.255.255.252
!
router rip
network 192.168.0.0
network 192.168.2.0
!
ip classless
no ip http server
!
!
!
line con 0
line aux 0
line vty 0
password nyesh#4olada
login
length 50
line vty 1 4
password nyesh#4olada
login
length 25
!
end

PES 08-29-2004 09:20 PM

Re: Router RIP Network Command Help
 

"David Jones" <spam@jonesie.com> wrote in message
news:73c9482f.0408291306.577fdb73@posting.google.c om...
> Hey gang,
> I'm working with a pair of 2501's connected directly together S0-S1
> back to back. In working towards my CCNA, I'm trying to make them talk
> and have hit a problem.
>
> To make it all work with my existing network, I'm staying within my
> private 192.168.X.X network. On my serial interfaces, I'm using the
> 192.168.2.0 and 192.168.2.4 networks, each with the 30 bit mask. I
> have successfully gotten network 192.168.0.0 and network 192.168.2.0
> working, but network 192.168.2.4 won't hold. When I enter the command,
> I get no indication of an error, but when I show run, it does not
> appear. I have tried it with both no ip classless and ip classless.


192.168.2.0 and 192.168.2.4 are the same classful network. When you enter
the router rip - network commands it will assume classful. When used in
conjunction with the ip classless commands, it should assume that all
192.168.2.x subnetworks are the same as the ones it has. If you switch
to rip v2 subnet masks should be carried with all route entries in the
rip packet, giving you more flexibility and functionality.

>
> Below you'll find my running-config. Please let me know what I'm
> missing, or what I need to change.
>
> This may seem to be a stupid question, but I'm a relative newbie. :)
>
> Thanks ~ David
>
> version 12.2
> service timestamps debug uptime
> service timestamps log uptime
> no service password-encryption
> service udp-small-servers
> service tcp-small-servers
> !
> hostname "Router2501T"
> !
> enable secret 5 $1$KBFL$nyWLe9tSecG9O.7MdklTw0
> !
> no ip subnet-zero
> !
> !
> !
> !
> interface Ethernet0
> ip address 192.168.0.254 255.255.255.0
> no mop enabled
> !
> interface Serial0
> ip address 192.168.2.1 255.255.255.252
> !
> interface Serial1
> ip address 192.168.2.5 255.255.255.252
> !
> router rip
> network 192.168.0.0
> network 192.168.2.0
> !
> ip classless
> no ip http server
> !
> !
> !
> line con 0
> line aux 0
> line vty 0
> password nyesh#4olada
> login
> length 50
> line vty 1 4
> password nyesh#4olada
> login
> length 25
> !
> end




Martin Bilgrav 08-29-2004 09:40 PM

Re: Router RIP Network Command Help
 

"David Jones" <spam@jonesie.com> wrote in message
> version 12.2
> service timestamps debug uptime
> service timestamps log uptime
> no service password-encryption
> service udp-small-servers
> service tcp-small-servers
> !
> hostname "Router2501T"
> !
> enable secret 5 $1$KBFL$nyWLe9tSecG9O.7MdklTw0
> !
> no ip subnet-zero



Try : ip subnet-zero

HTH
Martin Bilgrav



Jonathan 08-29-2004 09:57 PM

Re: Router RIP Network Command Help
 

"Martin Bilgrav" <bilgravCUTTHISOUT@image.dk> wrote in message
news:i1sYc.41688$Vf.2205179@news000.worldonline.dk ...
>
> "David Jones" <spam@jonesie.com> wrote in message
>> version 12.2
>> service timestamps debug uptime
>> service timestamps log uptime
>> no service password-encryption
>> service udp-small-servers
>> service tcp-small-servers
>> !
>> hostname "Router2501T"
>> !
>> enable secret 5 $1$KBFL$nyWLe9tSecG9O.7MdklTw0
>> !
>> no ip subnet-zero

>
>
> Try : ip subnet-zero
>


Which will have no effect on the way RIP works.



Jonathan



AnyBody43 08-30-2004 01:08 PM

Re: Router RIP Network Command Help
 
spam@jonesie.com (David Jones) wrote
> I'm working with a pair of 2501's connected directly together S0-S1
> back to back. In working towards my CCNA, I'm trying to make them talk
> and have hit a problem.
>
> To make it all work with my existing network, I'm staying within my
> private 192.168.X.X network. On my serial interfaces, I'm using the
> 192.168.2.0 and 192.168.2.4 networks, each with the 30 bit mask. I
> have successfully gotten network 192.168.0.0 and network 192.168.2.0
> working, but network 192.168.2.4 won't hold. When I enter the command,
> I get no indication of an error, but when I show run, it does not
> appear. I have tried it with both no ip classless and ip classless.


It does appear! I see it in your config!
> ip address 192.168.2.5 255.255.255.252


Maybe you mean
ip address 192.168.2.4 255.255.255.252
doesn't work.

This won't work since the host portion of the adderss is zero
which is not allowed.

192. 168. 2. 4
. 128 + 16+. .
128 + 64 . 8 + 4 + 2. 2 . 4
Address 1100-0000. 1001-1110. 0000-0010. 0000-01 00
mask 1111-1111. 1111-1111. 1111-1111. 1111-11 00
########## network portion ########### #host#

Host portion cannot be all 1's or all 0's
00 0 not allowed (obsolete broadcast) 00
01 1 valid host 01
10 2 valid host 10
11 3 IP 'directed' broadcast 11

The allowed addersses for network 192.168.2.4 255.255.255.252
are 192.168.2.5, 192.168.2.6.


> Below you'll find my running-config. Please let me know what I'm
> missing, or what I need to change.


> no ip subnet-zero
> !
> interface Ethernet0
> ip address 192.168.0.254 255.255.255.0
> no mop enabled
> !
> interface Serial0
> ip address 192.168.2.1 255.255.255.252
> !
> interface Serial1
> ip address 192.168.2.5 255.255.255.252
> !
> router rip
> network 192.168.0.0
> network 192.168.2.0
> !
> ip classless


There are issues with RIP v1 (I don't know what happens if ver
is not specified in config) which only understands one subnet
mask and here you are using two different ones. It will choose
one of other of the ones that you have used, I don't know the
process.

I suggest:-
Simplify matters by using addresses as follows:-
I believe that 192.168.0.254/24 will be OK but
I am not 100% sure, (only 99%). Ditch that too.

Router1:-
interface Ethernet0
ip address 192.168.1.254 255.255.255.0
!
interface Serial0
description Connected to Router2 S0
ip address 192.168.20.1 255.255.255.0
!
interface Serial1
description Connected to Router2 S1
ip address 192.168.30.1 255.255.255.0
!
router rip
network 192.168.1.0
network 192.168.20.0
network 192.168.30.0


Router2:-
interface Ethernet0
ip address 192.168.2.254 255.255.255.0
!
interface Serial0
description Connected to Router1 S0
ip address 192.168.20.2 255.255.255.0
!
interface Serial1
description Connected to Router1 S1
ip address 192.168.30.2 255.255.255.0
!
router rip
network 192.168.2.0
network 192.168.20.0
network 192.168.30.0

Once you get it working you can them make incremental changes
until you get it working the way you want.

There is of course no reason that your original addressing scheme
will not work with another dynamic routing protocol such as
RIP V2, EIGRP, OSPF.

Good luck.

mh 08-30-2004 01:58 PM

Re: Router RIP Network Command Help
 
This behavious is as it should be as the RIP network commands to not
support wildcard masks for subnets.

The command "ip classless" will not change this behaviour; nor will
configuring "version 2" under the rip routing process



STUB(config)#router rip
STUB(config-router)#network 4.1.1.1
STUB(config-router)#exit
STUB(config)#exit



STUB#sh run | beg router rip
router rip
network 4.0.0.0

Martin Bilgrav 08-30-2004 08:25 PM

Re: Router RIP Network Command Help
 

"mh" <merv.hrabi@rogers.com> wrote in message
>
> STUB#sh run | beg router rip
> router rip
> network 4.0.0.0


This isnt version 2.

try these;

#sho ip protocols
Routing Protocol is "rip"
Sending updates every 30 seconds, next due in 21 seconds
Invalid after 180 seconds, hold down 180, flushed after 240
Outgoing update filter list for all interfaces is not set
Incoming update filter list for all interfaces is not set
Redistributing: static, rip
Default version control: send version 2, receive version 2
Interface Send Recv Triggered RIP Key-chain
Ethernet0 2 2
Automatic network summarization is not in effect
Maximum path: 4
Routing for Networks:
192.168.0.0
Routing Information Sources:
Gateway Distance Last Update
Distance: (default is 120)


************

router rip
version 2
network 192.168.0.0
no auto-summary

************




VolatileAcid 08-31-2004 01:09 PM

Re: Router RIP Network Command Help
 
With so many conflicting answers... I feel sorry for you.



carl 09-01-2004 06:43 PM

Re: Router RIP Network Command Help
 
Hi

if you are entering the following in config mode:

router rip
network 192.168.0.0
network 192.168.2.0
network 192.168.2.4

you will only see the following in the running config:

router rip
network 192.168.0.0
network 192.168.2.0

you can only specify major networks under the rip process (version 1 and
version 2) BUT this should not stop the routing from working. If there is an
interface that falls into this major network on your router but you do not
want RIP to run on the interface then use the 'passive-interface' command.

Carl

"David Jones" <spam@jonesie.com> wrote in message
news:73c9482f.0408291306.577fdb73@posting.google.c om...
> Hey gang,
> I'm working with a pair of 2501's connected directly together S0-S1
> back to back. In working towards my CCNA, I'm trying to make them talk
> and have hit a problem.
>
> To make it all work with my existing network, I'm staying within my
> private 192.168.X.X network. On my serial interfaces, I'm using the
> 192.168.2.0 and 192.168.2.4 networks, each with the 30 bit mask. I
> have successfully gotten network 192.168.0.0 and network 192.168.2.0
> working, but network 192.168.2.4 won't hold. When I enter the command,
> I get no indication of an error, but when I show run, it does not
> appear. I have tried it with both no ip classless and ip classless.
>
> Below you'll find my running-config. Please let me know what I'm
> missing, or what I need to change.
>
> This may seem to be a stupid question, but I'm a relative newbie. :)
>
> Thanks ~ David
>
> version 12.2
> service timestamps debug uptime
> service timestamps log uptime
> no service password-encryption
> service udp-small-servers
> service tcp-small-servers
> !
> hostname "Router2501T"
> !
> enable secret 5 $1$KBFL$nyWLe9tSecG9O.7MdklTw0
> !
> no ip subnet-zero
> !
> !
> !
> !
> interface Ethernet0
> ip address 192.168.0.254 255.255.255.0
> no mop enabled
> !
> interface Serial0
> ip address 192.168.2.1 255.255.255.252
> !
> interface Serial1
> ip address 192.168.2.5 255.255.255.252
> !
> router rip
> network 192.168.0.0
> network 192.168.2.0
> !
> ip classless
> no ip http server
> !
> !
> !
> line con 0
> line aux 0
> line vty 0
> password nyesh#4olada
> login
> length 50
> line vty 1 4
> password nyesh#4olada
> login
> length 25
> !
> end




Hansang Bae 09-03-2004 11:59 PM

Re: Router RIP Network Command Help
 
In article <73c9482f.0408291306.577fdb73@posting.google.com >,
spam@jonesie.com says...
> Hey gang,
> I'm working with a pair of 2501's connected directly together S0-S1
> back to back. In working towards my CCNA, I'm trying to make them talk
> and have hit a problem.
>
> To make it all work with my existing network, I'm staying within my
> private 192.168.X.X network. On my serial interfaces, I'm using the
> 192.168.2.0 and 192.168.2.4 networks, each with the 30 bit mask. I
> have successfully gotten network 192.168.0.0 and network 192.168.2.0
> working, but network 192.168.2.4 won't hold. When I enter the command,
> I get no indication of an error, but when I show run, it does not
> appear. I have tried it with both no ip classless and ip classless.


You are entering "network 192.168.2.0" under rip which tells the router
to run RIP instance on *all* interfaces that are in the 192.168.2.0 /24
address space.

>
> Below you'll find my running-config. Please let me know what I'm
> missing, or what I need to change.
>
> This may seem to be a stupid question, but I'm a relative newbie. :)


There's nothing wrong. But since you are using the zero subnet, "ip
subnet-zero" would be a good idea.

[snip config}

--

hsb

"Somehow I imagined this experience would be more rewarding" Calvin
*************** USE ROT13 TO SEE MY EMAIL ADDRESS ****************
************************************************** ******************
Due to the volume of email that I receive, I may not not be able to
reply to emails sent to my account. Please post a followup instead.
************************************************** ******************


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:28 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.