Velocity Reviews

Velocity Reviews (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/index.php)
-   Cisco (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/f27-cisco.html)
-   -   cable-modem->d-link 614+-> cisco 3620->cisco 2501->my workstation setup help (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/t34645-cable-modem-d-link-614-cisco-3620-cisco-2501-my-workstation-setup-help.html)

Lorre 07-25-2004 05:57 PM

cable-modem->d-link 614+-> cisco 3620->cisco 2501->my workstation setup help
 
HI everyone,
I'm fairly new to cisco so bare with me....
i would appreciate some help with the following setup:

cable-modem->d-link 614+-> cisco 3620->cisco 2501->my workstation

I have connected the 2 routers back2back with both a dte-cable and
between those cable's are 2 "RAD ASM-45" devices (to connect 2 dte
cables instead of a dte with a dce). I'm told this should work but
this makes my first problem.

1) Show controller command gives me on both routers a dte-cable, so
where do i put the clock rate ?

The 3620 router is setup to get his ip-address from the dhcp server of
my d-link router:


c3600#sh run
Building configuration...

Current configuration : 1086 bytes
!
version 12.2
service timestamps debug uptime
service timestamps log uptime
no service password-encryption
!
hostname c3600
!
logging queue-limit 100
!
ip subnet-zero
!
!
ip dhcp excluded-address 192.168.0.101
ip dhcp excluded-address 192.168.0.102
ip dhcp excluded-address 192.168.0.100
!
ip dhcp pool CLIENT
import all
network 192.168.0.0 255.255.255.0
default-router 192.168.0.1
!
call rsvp-sync
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
interface Ethernet0/0
no ip address
half-duplex
!
interface Serial0/0
no ip address
shutdown
!
interface Serial0/1
no ip address
encapsulation frame-relay
no keepalive
!
interface Serial0/1.1 point-to-point
ip address 192.168.1.101 255.255.255.0
frame-relay interface-dlci 101
!
interface BRI1/0
no ip address
encapsulation hdlc
shutdown
!
interface Ethernet1/0
mac-address 00d0.582d.2bd1
ip address dhcp
ip nat inside
no ip route-cache
no ip mroute-cache
full-duplex
no cdp enable
!
ip classless
ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 192.168.0.1 254
no ip http server
!
!
dial-peer cor custom
!
!
!
!
line con 0
line aux 0
line vty 0 4
login
!
end

This works!
d-link has ip 192.168.0.1
3620 has 192.168.0.102 on e1/0
i've set the ip-address of the 2501 router's ethernet on 192.168.0.103

2) The problem is that i can't ping router 2500's serial or ethernet
from the 3620 router and the other way around

3) When the above would work will my workstation get an ip address or
not and will i be able to do everything like when my workstation was
connected directly to the d-link router? if not, how can i do this ?

Here is the 2501 show run :

Router#sh run
Building configuration...

Current configuration : 927 bytes
!
version 12.1
no service single-slot-reload-enable
service timestamps debug uptime
service timestamps log uptime
no service password-encryption
!
hostname Router
!
enable password lennert
!
!
!
!
!
ip subnet-zero
!
partition flash 2 8 8
!
!
!
!
interface Ethernet0
ip address 192.168.0.103 255.255.255.0
no ip route-cache
no ip mroute-cache
!
interface Serial0
no ip address
no ip route-cache
no ip mroute-cache
shutdown
dce-terminal-timing-enable
!
interface Serial0.1
no ip route-cache
no ip mroute-cache
!
interface Serial1
no ip address
encapsulation frame-relay
no ip route-cache
no ip mroute-cache
no keepalive
!
interface Serial1.1 point-to-point
ip address 192.168.1.100 255.255.255.0
no ip route-cache
no ip mroute-cache
frame-relay interface-dlci 101
!
ip classless
no ip http server
!
!
line con 0
line aux 0
transport input all
line vty 0
password lennert
login
line vty 1 4
login
!
end

Router#

I know this is alot to ask in one post but i'm guessing it isn't that
hard for some people who work alot on cisco-devices .

Anyway, thanks alot already for having a look...

regards,
Lennert


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:11 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.