Velocity Reviews

Velocity Reviews (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/index.php)
-   Python (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/f43-python.html)
-   -   Jython run scripts problem (2.2.0a0 on Mac OSX 10.3.8) (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/t344082-jython-run-scripts-problem-2-2-0a0-on-mac-osx-10-3-8-a.html)

scott 04-21-2005 08:46 PM

Jython run scripts problem (2.2.0a0 on Mac OSX 10.3.8)
 
I installed darwinports and did a "sudo port install jython"

-------------------------

scott$ which jython
/opt/local/bin/jython

-------------------------

Jython works in interactive mode as shown below:

-------------------------

pyprogs$ cd hotbits/
hotbits$ ls
flips50.py jythoninstall.py randomX randomflip.py
hotbits$ jython
Jython 2.2a0 on java1.4.2_05 (JIT: null)
>>> # Truly random (radioactive decay triggered) coin flip
>>> from randomX import randomHotBits
>>> r = randomHotBits()
>>> if r.nextByte() < 0:

.... print 'tails'
.... else:
.... print 'heads'
....
tails

--------------------------

Jython *doesn't* work if I save the above as a script and try to run it.
It refuses to run the script and simply starts up in interactive mode:

---------------------------

hotbits$ jython randomflip.py
Jython 2.2a0 on java1.4.2_05 (JIT: null)
>>>


---------------------------

Question:
How can I run scripts as expected (outside interactive mode)?

Thanks in advance.

Diez B. Roggisch 04-21-2005 10:14 PM

Re: Jython run scripts problem (2.2.0a0 on Mac OSX 10.3.8)
 
scott wrote:

> I installed darwinports and did a "sudo port install jython"
>
> -------------------------
>
> scott$ which jython
> /opt/local/bin/jython
>
> -------------------------
>
> Jython works in interactive mode as shown below:
>
> -------------------------
>
> pyprogs$ cd hotbits/
> hotbits$ ls
> flips50.py jythoninstall.py randomX randomflip.py
> hotbits$ jython
> Jython 2.2a0 on java1.4.2_05 (JIT: null)
> >>> # Truly random (radioactive decay triggered) coin flip
> >>> from randomX import randomHotBits
> >>> r = randomHotBits()
> >>> if r.nextByte() < 0:

> ... print 'tails'
> ... else:
> ... print 'heads'
> ...
> tails
>
> --------------------------
>
> Jython *doesn't* work if I save the above as a script and try to run it.
> It refuses to run the script and simply starts up in interactive mode:
>
> ---------------------------
>
> hotbits$ jython randomflip.py
> Jython 2.2a0 on java1.4.2_05 (JIT: null)
> >>>

>
> ---------------------------
>
> Question:
> How can I run scripts as expected (outside interactive mode)?
>
> Thanks in advance.


Looks as if the jython shell script does not pass your scriptname as
argument to the interpreter class.

Mine (on linux) looks like this:

"/usr/lib/j2se/1.4/jre/bin/java" -Dpython.home="/home/deets/lib/jython-2.1"
-classpath "/home/deets/lib/jython-2.1/jython.jar:$CLASSPATH"
"org.python.util.jython" "$@"

Note the "$@" - that passes all additional arguments.

--
Regards,

Diez B. Roggisch


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:53 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.