Velocity Reviews

Velocity Reviews (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/index.php)
-   Cisco (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/f27-cisco.html)
-   -   2 3550's on a Netgear Switch (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/t33400-2-3550s-on-a-netgear-switch.html)

Jo Knight 05-10-2004 04:00 PM

2 3550's on a Netgear Switch
 
Hello,

I have a couple of 3550 switches that intend to use for an internal LAN
using VLANs and HSRP for redundancy.

I am just testing this configuration at the moment, and have so far got
inter-VLAN routing going fine but now have run into a problem. My test
network structure is as follows:

2x 3550 switches (a and b for this example)

hostA = 192.168.1.2
port4 (VLAN 192) SVI = 192.168.1.1
port24 (VLAN 22) SVI = 192.168.22.250
hostB = 192.168.22.50

hostA -> 3550a(port 4 VLAN 192) -> 3550a(port24 VLAN 22) -> Netgear Switch
<- hostB

With my current config I can connect between hostA and hostB with no
problem. The problem comes when I plug an additional 3550 with VLAN
interface (3550b port22 VLAN22 192.168.22.249) into the Netgear switch. I
thought that both of the 3550's would be independent and just appear as two
devices on the network (ie 2 routers) connected to the Netgear switch
(192.168.22.0), but once I connect the 2nd 2550 to the Netgear I am unable
to route from VLAN192 and VLAN22. I turned on some debugging and see these
events just after the standby 3550(b) is plugged into the Netgear:

01:38:08: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface FastEthernet0/24,
changed state to down
01:38:08: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface Vlan22, changed
state to down
01:38:08: %STANDBY-6-STATECHANGE: Vlan22 Group 22 state Active -> Init
01:38:08: is_up: 0 state: 4 sub state: 1 line: 0
01:38:08: RT: interface Vlan22 removed from routing table
01:38:08: RT: del 192.168.22.0 via 0.0.0.0, connected metric [0/0]
01:38:08: RT: delete network route to 192.168.22.0
01:38:11: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface FastEthernet0/24,
changed state to up

It looks to me as if the primary 3550(a) is removing the route for the
192.168.22.0 network once the standby 3550(b) is intorduced onto the Netgear
switch. Why?

So it would seem that for some reason, I cannot have interfaces from each of
my 3550's on the same subnet which I find strange as I will need this so
that I can implement HSRP correctly. Am I correct in thinking that I need to
have 2 uplinks (1 to each of the 3550 ports configured on the 192.168.22.0
network from the Netgear)

Has anyone done something similar using a couple of 3550's for the VLANs and
routing, connecting to a series of unmanaged switches like the Netgears.

Thanks for any pointers.
Jo

(snipped configs follow) I can provide further output if required.

----- 3550a Config -----
interface FastEthernet0/4
switchport access vlan 192
switchport mode dynamic desirable
no ip address
!
interface FastEthernet0/24
switchport access vlan 22
switchport mode dynamic desirable
no ip address
!
interface Vlan22
ip address 192.168.22.250 255.255.255.0
no ip redirects
standby 22 ip 192.168.22.254
!
interface Vlan192
ip address 192.168.1.1 255.255.255.0
no ip redirects
!
!

----- 3550b config -----
interface FastEthernet0/22
switchport access vlan 22
switchport mode dynamic desirable
no ip address
!
interface Vlan22
ip address 192.168.22.249 255.255.255.0
no ip redirects
standby 22 ip 192.168.22.254
!



Walter Roberson 05-10-2004 04:24 PM

Re: 2 3550's on a Netgear Switch
 
In article <uDNnc.23$dN5.10@front-1.news.blueyonder.co.uk>,
Jo Knight <myname@blueyonder.co.uk> wrote:
:I have a couple of 3550 switches that intend to use for an internal LAN
:using VLANs and HSRP for redundancy.

:The problem comes when I plug an additional 3550 with VLAN
:interface (3550b port22 VLAN22 192.168.22.249) into the Netgear switch. I
:thought that both of the 3550's would be independent and just appear as two
:devices on the network (ie 2 routers) connected to the Netgear switch
:(192.168.22.0), but once I connect the 2nd 2550 to the Netgear I am unable
:to route from VLAN192 and VLAN22. I turned on some debugging and see these
:events just after the standby 3550(b) is plugged into the Netgear:


:01:38:08: RT: interface Vlan22 removed from routing table

Sounds to me as if you have VTP configured on the 3550's, and that
you have the same (perhaps default) VTP 'community') configured for both.
One of your 3550's is then pushing your vlan policy to the other one.
--
Whose posting was this .signature Google'd from?

Jo Knight 05-11-2004 03:30 PM

Re: 2 3550's on a Netgear Switch
 
Jo Knight wrote:
> It looks to me as if the primary 3550(a) is removing the route for the
> 192.168.22.0 network once the standby 3550(b) is introduced onto the

Netgear
> switch. Why?


It would seem that if I changed 'switchport mode dynamic desirable' to
'switchport mode access' on the Fa ports that connect to the Netgear it
works OK




All times are GMT. The time now is 01:41 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.