Velocity Reviews

Velocity Reviews (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/index.php)
-   Cisco (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/f27-cisco.html)
-   -   Limit bandwidth (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/t32738-limit-bandwidth.html)

infocde 04-04-2004 03:34 PM

Limit bandwidth
 
Hi,

is it possible to limit the bandwidth on a specific port or a specific
protocol ?
I'm using a Cisco 826 ! But I'm sure that it depends on the IOS.
So if it's possible, I will apreciate a little example :)

Thx
Bob



Phillip Remaker 04-04-2004 07:29 PM

Re: Limit bandwidth
 

"infocde" <infocde@free.fr> wrote in message
news:40702b7d$0$14395$626a14ce@news.free.fr...
> Hi,
>
> is it possible to limit the bandwidth on a specific port or a specific
> protocol ?


You want the "rate-limit" command.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/...080087f26.html

Google: "cisco rate-limit site:cisco.com"



James 04-06-2004 05:46 PM

Re: Limit bandwidth
 
Phillip Remaker wrote:
> "infocde" <infocde@free.fr> wrote in message
> news:40702b7d$0$14395$626a14ce@news.free.fr...
>
>>Hi,
>>
>>is it possible to limit the bandwidth on a specific port or a specific
>>protocol ?

>
>
> You want the "rate-limit" command.
>
> http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/...080087f26.html
>
> Google: "cisco rate-limit site:cisco.com"
>
>


What is you have 3 different types
(ports) for data traffic:

502
modbusTCP (highest)

750
application (moderate)

2000
H.264 video (low priority)


all from one location cisco
(1721 router, 12.3 IOS)

Or would you go to a QOS/Queue scheme?

Then what would you use to look at the
different types(ports) of data traffic?

jffnms, nload, ntop ,mrtg ,NRG,
flowscan,munim, flow-tools, ibmonitor,
iptraf, ipband, nagios, or orca?

These packages seem to be the best by
simple web searching, but what is the
best from the viewpoint of experienced
network admins? Is their a combo of
tools in one package for unix/linux?

James


James 04-06-2004 05:54 PM

Re: Limit bandwidth
 
infocde wrote:
> Hi,
>
> is it possible to limit the bandwidth on a specific port or a specific
> protocol ?
> I'm using a Cisco 826 ! But I'm sure that it depends on the IOS.
> So if it's possible, I will apreciate a little example :)
>
> Thx
> Bob
>
>


Some time ago, I set up inbound ppp on
the aux serial port to a 1721. It was
a bitch, and I had to get a firmware
upgrade to the 1721, just to support ppp
inbound to the cisco 1721. After, that
hassle, I then had to try various v.90
and v.92 modems to get things happy. I
forget the name, but cisco routers do
recognize certain types of modems.

V.90 is your friend with Cisco routers.
I spent weeks with ppp and older modems
before 'enlightenment'.

By the way, with PPP you get everything
needed for robust tcp/ip, including but
not limited to OSPF for multipath and
redundancy.

James




All times are GMT. The time now is 02:37 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.