Velocity Reviews

Velocity Reviews (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/index.php)
-   Computer Information (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/f41-computer-information.html)
-   -   ASRock K7S8XE+ RAM? (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/t312287-asrock-k7s8xe-ram.html)

Jess Fertudei 10-20-2004 02:43 AM

ASRock K7S8XE+ RAM?
 
Hello.


I have an ASRock K7S8XE+ . The first piece of RAM I had in it was bad and
when the vendor returned it, it was not 8 chip, but rather 16. At a glance
it seems to run fine. I am wondering, though, about running it with my other
chip.

Will I have problems on this board if I run a PC2700 Crucial 64X64 16 chip
double sided 512M chip along with a PC2700 K-Byte (Avant) 8 chip single
sided 256M?

I'm guessing I need to run the 512 in the first slot if I can... if it's not
gonna work out, would memtest86 v3.1 catch any issues if I boot to that
first (both chips have tested OK alone... don't wan't to waste hours testing
if I don't need to).



Most thoughts appreciated.









Plato 10-20-2004 07:17 AM

Re: ASRock K7S8XE+ RAM?
 
Jess Fertudei wrote:
>
> I'm guessing I need to run the 512 in the first slot if I can... if it's not
> gonna work out, would memtest86 v3.1 catch any issues if I boot to that
> first (both chips have tested OK alone... don't wan't to waste hours testing
> if I don't need to).


ram testers test ram. They dont test if one stick can sleep with another
stick.



Jess Fertudei 10-20-2004 03:54 PM

Re: ASRock K7S8XE+ RAM?
 

"Plato" <|@|.|> wrote in message
news:4176103a$0$44913$45beb828@newscene.com...
> Jess Fertudei wrote:
> >
> > I'm guessing I need to run the 512 in the first slot if I can... if it's

not
> > gonna work out, would memtest86 v3.1 catch any issues if I boot to that
> > first (both chips have tested OK alone... don't wan't to waste hours

testing
> > if I don't need to).

>
> ram testers test ram. They dont test if one stick can sleep with another
> stick.
>
>


Thanks... that's what I kind of figured. They both run OK on their own...
I'll just have to stick them in there and see what happens.


By the way... what is it that I need to edit in my 98SE partition to get it
to run OK with the 512 or 768 Megs? I don't use it a lot, but I do from time
to time and it now runs slower than heck. XP seems very happy witht the new
board and doubled RAM.











All times are GMT. The time now is 10:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.