Velocity Reviews

Velocity Reviews (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/index.php)
-   Digital Photography (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/f37-digital-photography.html)
-   -   Old lens + 300d - what happens? (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/t292700-old-lens-300d-what-happens.html)

Gareth Tuckwell 08-12-2004 01:33 PM

Old lens + 300d - what happens?
 
I have an old (3 yrs) sigma lens attached to my film eos 300 and am
considering a 300d. I know the lens will probably need re-chipping before it
will 'work' on the newer digital bodies, but what exactly will be the
problem - in what way will it not 'work' without re-chipping?? Is it just
the autofocus that will fail, because surely the camera would be able to
'see' through the lens and still take a photo, or might the camera be unable
to measure the light properly?? Or will the camera just refuse to take
anything?

I know - take the lens to a shop and try it, only I don't live near any
camera shops, so this will have to wait a while!




David Littlewood 08-12-2004 01:49 PM

Re: Old lens + 300d - what happens?
 
In article <SkKSc.281$sv2.139@newsfe3-gui.ntli.net>, Gareth Tuckwell
<ContactGT@NoSpam_hotmail.com> writes
>I have an old (3 yrs) sigma lens attached to my film eos 300 and am
>considering a 300d. I know the lens will probably need re-chipping before it
>will 'work' on the newer digital bodies, but what exactly will be the
>problem - in what way will it not 'work' without re-chipping?? Is it just
>the autofocus that will fail, because surely the camera would be able to
>'see' through the lens and still take a photo, or might the camera be unable
>to measure the light properly?? Or will the camera just refuse to take
>anything?
>
>I know - take the lens to a shop and try it, only I don't live near any
>camera shops, so this will have to wait a while!
>
>
>

Based on my experience (8-10 yr old 14mm Sigma on 10D) it will only work
at full aperture - it just won't stop down at all. It will IIRC take a
picture if set at full aperture. If you try setting at any other
aperture you may get an error message.

David
--
David Littlewood

Tony Spadaro 08-12-2004 05:19 PM

Re: Old lens + 300d - what happens?
 
One of mine gave an error code, locking up the camera, and the other simply
worked but the diaphragm never closed down. One had been re-chipped once but
I don't know what the problem was as I didn't own it at that time. Both
lenses were deemed "too old" by Sigma to be re-chipped. The one I bought new
was 6. The one that had been re-chipped had come back from Sigma only one
year earlier after its re-chipping, which took 6 months - during which the
owner replaced it with a better lens and I picked up on what turned out to
be a very bad trade.

--
http://www.chapelhillnoir.com
home of The Camera-ist's Manifesto
The Improved Links Pages are at
http://www.chapelhillnoir.com/links/mlinks00.html
A sample chapter from my novel "Haight-Ashbury" is at
http://www.chapelhillnoir.com/writ/hait/hatitl.html
"Gareth Tuckwell" <ContactGT@NoSpam_hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:SkKSc.281$sv2.139@newsfe3-gui.ntli.net...
> I have an old (3 yrs) sigma lens attached to my film eos 300 and am
> considering a 300d. I know the lens will probably need re-chipping before

it
> will 'work' on the newer digital bodies, but what exactly will be the
> problem - in what way will it not 'work' without re-chipping?? Is it just
> the autofocus that will fail, because surely the camera would be able to
> 'see' through the lens and still take a photo, or might the camera be

unable
> to measure the light properly?? Or will the camera just refuse to take
> anything?
>
> I know - take the lens to a shop and try it, only I don't live near any
> camera shops, so this will have to wait a while!
>
>
>




Boris Harss 08-12-2004 05:21 PM

Re: Old lens + 300d - what happens?
 
Hi!

> I have an old (3 yrs) sigma lens attached to my film eos 300 and am
> considering a 300d. I know the lens will probably need re-chipping before it
> will 'work' on the newer digital bodies


A 3-year old Sigma will likely be fine without re-chiping. The problem
allready occured with some of the later Canon film bodies.

>, but what exactly will be the
> problem - in what way will it not 'work' without re-chipping??


I get an "Error 99"


> Is it just
> the autofocus that will fail, because surely the camera would be able to
> 'see' through the lens and still take a photo, or might the camera be unable
> to measure the light properly?? Or will the camera just refuse to take
> anything?


Unfortunately the latter - at lease in my case with an 14mm/3.5 Sigma

> I know - take the lens to a shop and try it, only I don't live near any
> camera shops, so this will have to wait a while!


The loss would likely be small compraed to the price of the Camera...
;-)). I'd just try and assume for now that all will work.

Cheers,
B.

E. Magnuson 08-12-2004 06:06 PM

Re: Old lens + 300d - what happens?
 
On 2004-08-12, Gareth Tuckwell <ContactGT@NoSpam_hotmail.com> wrote:
> in what way will it not 'work' without re-chipping??


You will get an "Err 99" indication and you will not be able
to take a photo. Turning off AF will not make any difference.

--
Erik

Gareth Tuckwell 08-12-2004 09:32 PM

Re: Old lens + 300d - what happens?
 
I know it won't work as I contacted Sigma, they didn't say why it would not
work, only that lenses of my type (28-300 Aspherical Hyperzoom) with a
serial number earlier than 3001001, would cost 35GBP to re-chip the lens.
This would be only £5 with proof of purchase, but I don't have that!

Thanks for the advice everyone though.


"Boris Harss" <B0r1s@harss-accurso.de> wrote in message
news:cfg8nj$e67$1@online.de...
> Hi!
>
> > I have an old (3 yrs) sigma lens attached to my film eos 300 and am
> > considering a 300d. I know the lens will probably need re-chipping

before it
> > will 'work' on the newer digital bodies

>
> A 3-year old Sigma will likely be fine without re-chiping. The problem
> allready occured with some of the later Canon film bodies.
>
> >, but what exactly will be the
> > problem - in what way will it not 'work' without re-chipping??

>
> I get an "Error 99"
>
>
> > Is it just
> > the autofocus that will fail, because surely the camera would be able to
> > 'see' through the lens and still take a photo, or might the camera be

unable
> > to measure the light properly?? Or will the camera just refuse to take
> > anything?

>
> Unfortunately the latter - at lease in my case with an 14mm/3.5 Sigma
>
> > I know - take the lens to a shop and try it, only I don't live near any
> > camera shops, so this will have to wait a while!

>
> The loss would likely be small compraed to the price of the Camera...
> ;-)). I'd just try and assume for now that all will work.
>
> Cheers,
> B.




Tony Spadaro 08-12-2004 10:12 PM

Re: Old lens + 300d - what happens?
 
Wrong. The problem is with Sigma. They reverse engineer the mount
consequently Sigam lenses are never actually compatible with Canon bodies.
Sigma has no idea what is really in the Canon chip. Just one more way for
Sigma to screw the public in order to save a buck.

--
http://www.chapelhillnoir.com
home of The Camera-ist's Manifesto
The Improved Links Pages are at
http://www.chapelhillnoir.com/links/mlinks00.html
A sample chapter from my novel "Haight-Ashbury" is at
http://www.chapelhillnoir.com/writ/hait/hatitl.html
"Boris Harss" <B0r1s@harss-accurso.de> wrote in message
news:cfg8nj$e67$1@online.de...
> Hi!
>
> > I have an old (3 yrs) sigma lens attached to my film eos 300 and am
> > considering a 300d. I know the lens will probably need re-chipping

before it
> > will 'work' on the newer digital bodies

>
> A 3-year old Sigma will likely be fine without re-chiping. The problem
> allready occured with some of the later Canon film bodies.
>
> >, but what exactly will be the
> > problem - in what way will it not 'work' without re-chipping??

>
> I get an "Error 99"
>
>
> > Is it just
> > the autofocus that will fail, because surely the camera would be able to
> > 'see' through the lens and still take a photo, or might the camera be

unable
> > to measure the light properly?? Or will the camera just refuse to take
> > anything?

>
> Unfortunately the latter - at lease in my case with an 14mm/3.5 Sigma
>
> > I know - take the lens to a shop and try it, only I don't live near any
> > camera shops, so this will have to wait a while!

>
> The loss would likely be small compraed to the price of the Camera...
> ;-)). I'd just try and assume for now that all will work.
>
> Cheers,
> B.




eawckyegcy@yahoo.com 08-12-2004 11:47 PM

Re: Old lens + 300d - what happens?
 
"Gareth Tuckwell" <ContactGT@NoSpam_hotmail.com> wrote:

> I have an old (3 yrs) sigma lens attached to my film eos 300 and am
> considering a 300d. I know the lens will probably need re-chipping before it
> will 'work' on the newer digital bodies, but what exactly will be the
> problem - in what way will it not 'work' without re-chipping??


http://heasarc.gsfc.nasa.gov/docs/snr.html

Intelligence reports from Pakistan are showing that Al Queda has
discovered that if you attach an old Sigma lens to a new Canon body
that similar physics ensues. Secret documents filed in the lowest
catacombs at Site R -- Cheney eyes only -- written by specialists at
the United States Otdel Obespechennosti Rodina contain images of Osama
himself tickling the dragon's tail by actually mounting an old Sigma
lens to a Canon digital body! It is known that core collapse and
subsequent detonation only occur posterior to AF activation. Now you
know why photographers are being hassled for taking pictures of
Federal Property.

I would tell you more, except that there is someone knocking at my
door. I don't know who ))(!)! ____~~~@(

X-Exception: posting.google.com; connection reset by peer

JPS@no.komm 08-13-2004 12:36 AM

Re: Old lens + 300d - what happens?
 
In message <3XRSc.252302$2o2.14768255@twister.southeast.rr.co m>,
"Tony Spadaro" <tspadaro@ncmaps.rr.com> wrote:

>Wrong. The problem is with Sigma. They reverse engineer the mount
>consequently Sigam lenses are never actually compatible with Canon bodies.
>Sigma has no idea what is really in the Canon chip. Just one more way for
>Sigma to screw the public in order to save a buck.


The number of secrets can't be infinite, though. Someday they will
figure it all out, if they haven't already.
--

<>>< ><<> ><<> <>>< ><<> <>>< <>>< ><<>
John P Sheehy <JPS@no.komm>
><<> <>>< <>>< ><<> <>>< ><<> ><<> <>><


jean 08-13-2004 03:45 AM

Re: Old lens + 300d - what happens?
 
Sometimes it is not easy to spot what is wrong. With the Sigma lens I owed
(brand new BTW), I noticed the exposure was different when I compared it to
the "kit" lens on my Drebel set to the same settings and taking the same
scene. It took me more than the usual two weeks to find out so it was
impossible to return. I found the diaphragm would not close to the same
position all the time and it would behave differently on different cameras.
Sad to say nowadays it is almost impossible to buy "foreign" lenses and
expect the same performace as the ones from the maker of the camera.

Jean

"Gareth Tuckwell" <ContactGT@NoSpam_hotmail.com> a écrit dans le message de
news:SkKSc.281$sv2.139@newsfe3-gui.ntli.net...
> I have an old (3 yrs) sigma lens attached to my film eos 300 and am
> considering a 300d. I know the lens will probably need re-chipping before

it
> will 'work' on the newer digital bodies, but what exactly will be the
> problem - in what way will it not 'work' without re-chipping?? Is it just
> the autofocus that will fail, because surely the camera would be able to
> 'see' through the lens and still take a photo, or might the camera be

unable
> to measure the light properly?? Or will the camera just refuse to take
> anything?
>
> I know - take the lens to a shop and try it, only I don't live near any
> camera shops, so this will have to wait a while!
>
>
>





All times are GMT. The time now is 08:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.