Velocity Reviews

Velocity Reviews (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/index.php)
-   ASP .Net (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/f29-asp-net.html)
-   -   Creating a dynamic menu asp.net2!!HELP!!!! (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/t237007-creating-a-dynamic-menu-asp-net2-help.html)

Sri Reddy 05-02-2006 04:29 PM

Creating a dynamic menu asp.net2!!HELP!!!!
 

Hi
I want to create a horizontal menu on my website being built using
asp.net2 with menu items based on the "role" of the user who logged into
the system.Role iformation will be read from database...

For ex:
for a user with "Admin" role, i would like to show "Menu Item1", "Menu
Item2", "Menu Item3", "Menu Item4". Where as if the user belongs to
"Help-desk" role, i would like to show only "Menu Item1" and "Menu
Item3"...

Also, i want to provide an alternative to access "Menu Items" if the
java-script is disabled...

Wondering what options do i got....
Thanks
Sri





*** Sent via Developersdex http://www.developersdex.com ***

Swanand Mokashi 05-02-2006 06:35 PM

Re: Creating a dynamic menu asp.net2!!HELP!!!!
 
You could use the menu control with SiteMap if you are using ASP.NET 2.0
..You can specify roles in the SiteMap.

Not sure if 2.0 is an option for you though

--
Swanand Mokashi
Microsoft Certified Solution Developer (.NET) - Early Achiever
Microsoft Certified Application Developer (.NET)

http://www.dotnetgenerics.com/
DotNetGenerics.com -- anything and everything about Microsoft .NET
technology ...

http://www.swanandmokashi.com/
http://www.swanandmokashi.com/HomePage/WebServices/
Home of the Stock Quotes, Quote of the day and Horoscope web services


"Sri Reddy" <pa_sriram@yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:e%23$JjWgbGHA.1204@TK2MSFTNGP02.phx.gbl...
>
> Hi
> I want to create a horizontal menu on my website being built using
> asp.net2 with menu items based on the "role" of the user who logged into
> the system.Role iformation will be read from database...
>
> For ex:
> for a user with "Admin" role, i would like to show "Menu Item1", "Menu
> Item2", "Menu Item3", "Menu Item4". Where as if the user belongs to
> "Help-desk" role, i would like to show only "Menu Item1" and "Menu
> Item3"...
>
> Also, i want to provide an alternative to access "Menu Items" if the
> java-script is disabled...
>
> Wondering what options do i got....
> Thanks
> Sri
>
>
>
>
>
> *** Sent via Developersdex http://www.developersdex.com ***




Sri Reddy 05-02-2006 10:21 PM

Re: Creating a dynamic menu asp.net2!!HELP!!!!
 
Thanks Swanand!!!

Yes, I am using ASP.NET 2 version with C#. does it work with Javascript
diabled browsers too?

Appreciate if you can point me to any resources or examples!!!!






*** Sent via Developersdex http://www.developersdex.com ***

Sri Reddy 05-02-2006 10:22 PM

Re: Creating a dynamic menu asp.net2!!HELP!!!!
 
Thanks Swanand!!!

Yes, I am using ASP.NET 2 version with C#. does it work with Javascript
disabled browsers too?

Appreciate if you can point me to any resources or examples!!!!






*** Sent via Developersdex http://www.developersdex.com ***

Swanand Mokashi 05-03-2006 12:31 PM

Re: Creating a dynamic menu asp.net2!!HELP!!!!
 
http://msconline.maconstate.edu/tuto...pnet10-02.aspx
http://www.eggheadcafe.com/articles/20050531.asp
http://www.ondotnet.com/pub/a/dotnet..._aspnet20.html

Yes it will render correctly based on what browser your user is using.

--
Swanand Mokashi
Microsoft Certified Solution Developer (.NET) - Early Achiever
Microsoft Certified Application Developer (.NET)

http://www.dotnetgenerics.com/
DotNetGenerics.com -- anything and everything about Microsoft .NET
technology ...

http://www.swanandmokashi.com/
http://www.swanandmokashi.com/HomePage/WebServices/
Home of the Stock Quotes, Quote of the day and Horoscope web services


"Sri Reddy" <pa_sriram@yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:%23TKLWbjbGHA.3840@TK2MSFTNGP04.phx.gbl...
> Thanks Swanand!!!
>
> Yes, I am using ASP.NET 2 version with C#. does it work with Javascript
> disabled browsers too?
>
> Appreciate if you can point me to any resources or examples!!!!
>
>
>
>
>
>
> *** Sent via Developersdex http://www.developersdex.com ***




prashiddha 12-15-2011 05:47 AM

Dynamic Menu in asp.net
 
If you need Dynamic Menu In asp.net with following things.
  1. Gets rendered from database.
  2. Admin can change the name of the menu by simply updating the database table. For example Office org to My Org. etc
  3. You dont want to hard code the redirection url for any menu click.(i.e. entry of url also in database).
  4. Simply dont want to have a xml file for the above things.(on fly xml variable construction and distruction which avoids creating xml file in server).
  5. Simply Dont want to do jquery
Then Click Here Dynamic Menu


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:21 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.