Velocity Reviews

Velocity Reviews (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/index.php)
-   Computer Support (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/f33-computer-support.html)
-   -   Re: Can't read last cluster of drive. (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/t170936-re-cant-read-last-cluster-of-drive.html)

hcb 06-22-2003 09:54 AM

Re: Can't read last cluster of drive.
 
does anyone know zaratustra?
"Zaltor" <Z@ab.com> wrote in message
news:HM4Ia.68694$zm1.4666@twister.nyroc.rr.com...
>
> I kept trying it in Safe Mode (defragging) cause everything had always
> run faster in that mode, I'll try it with the system running normally. Is

it
> possible
> to shut off all those annoying devices/drivers so they don't interupt the
> process
> as much? Maybe step by step mode and don't let it turn on all the other
> little programs?
>
> "PuppyKatt" <PuppyKatt@Hogwartz.not> wrote in message
> news:r61Ia.658$I7.1038@news1.mts.net...
> > If that is the problem, hold off on my suggestion until someone here
> > (tinh) who has experience with this imaging thing. I also added a
> > larger harddrive to my computer, and had/have trouble with reports of
> > bad sectors/clusters, but after F-Disk and formatting both hard drives,
> > I have not had trouble. Once every 4 or so months, I get a message
> > about clusters 1xx - 3xx being bad, but bothe the DOS scandisk and the
> > Windows thorough scandisk show no errors, no bad clusters or sectors,
> > and defrag runs smoothly. Can't do scandisk or defrag in safe mode,
> > though; I get freeze-ups and auto restarts if I try. The only reason
> > why I tried in safemode is because Mr. Martell suggested it in order to
> > avoid the "Driver contents changed ... restarting " message I get about
> > 8 times when I defrag. I also get this message when I defrag my
> > friend's computer, so I experimented.
> > When I restore to factory-stuff, and do a defrag *before* doing any
> > Windows Updates, I do not get that message, so I'm thinking that the
> > drivers contents have changed because of all the updates. The more
> > updates I add, the more times it has to restart, and I do not use
> > screensaver, task scheduler, or anything else that uses a timer on my
> > computer. Just another Microsoft bug, I suppose.
> >
> > Zaltor wrote:
> > >> "PuppyKatt" <PuppyKatt@Hogwartz.not> wrote in message
> > >> news:ur%Ha.523$I7.994@news1.mts.net...
> > >>> I suggest doing an F-disk and repartitioning and reformatting the
> > >>> drives. Use the DOS scandisk to do a complete scan *before* you
> > >>> reinstall anything. If you are still getting a bad cluster reading,
> > >>> take this new hard drive back to the store; it may be junk to start
> > >>> with. Good luck.
> > >>>
> > >>
> > >> Thanks :) It's strange, If I whack the drive scan it it's alright,
> > >> it seems to be some
> > >> thing about the image of the old drive on it - the old drive image
> > >> is fine and has
> > >> no trouble scanning it's drive - the problem with that drive is it
> > >> is too small. It would
> > >> be nice to use the old image on the newer drive, but it might never
> > >> work 100%
> > >> correct, oh well, in a while I'll have the cash for a better machine
> > >> and I'll shoot
> > >> this laptop (no big loss it's kinda old and obsolete) I had
> > >> initially asked cause it
> > >> was suggested to me that some old setting on the old image might
> > >> have been cause an erroneous error message. :/
> > >>
> > >>
> > >> <old stuff snipped>

> >
> >

>
>





All times are GMT. The time now is 12:40 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.